LSU’s Daniels, Oregon’s Nix share National Quarterback of the Week honor

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Jayden Daniels and Will Campbell
(Photo: Jonathan Mailhes)

Both quarterbacks accounted for five touchdowns in victories over top-10 teams

FORT WORTH, Texas (Oct. 25, 2022) — After having Co-National Quarterbacks of the Week just twice in the past nine seasons, the Davey O’Brien Foundation is featuring dual recipients for the second straight week as LSU’s Jayden Daniels and Oregon’s Bo Nix share the honor in week eight.

Both players accounted for five total touchdowns and more than 325 yards of total offense in victories over previously unbeaten, top-10 teams on Saturday. Last week, the same two conferences (SEC and Pac-12) had co-winners with Tennessee’s Hendon Hooker and Utah’s Cameron Rising.

Daniels, the SEC Offensive Player of the Week, led the Tigers back from an early 14-point deficit to earn a 45-20 victory over No. 7 Ole Miss. The junior was 21 of 28 passing (.750) for 248 yards and a pair of touchdowns. In addition, he rushed for 121 yards and found the end zone three times on the ground.

The native of San Bernardino, Calif., became the first quarterback in LSU history to rush for 100 yards and pass for 200 yards in same game twice in one season. He also broke LSU single-season quarterback records for rushing touchdowns (9) and rushing yards (524) during the contest.

Nix, the Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Week, directed the Ducks to a 45-30 win over No. 9 UCLA by completing 22 of 28 throws (78.6 percent) for 283 yards and five touchdowns. The senior also added 51 rushing yards on eight carries, an average of 6.4 yards per carry.

His five touchdown passes matched a career high, and also made him one of just five players in the nation to throw five TD passes twice this season. In the second quarter, the product of Pinson, Ala., was a perfect 11 of 11 passing for 151 yards and three touchdowns as the Ducks raced to a 31-13 halftime lead.

The other Great 8 quarterbacks in week eight were Sean Clifford of Penn State, TCU’s Max Duggan, Sam Hartman of Wake Forest, Washington’s Michael Penix Jr., Spencer Sanders of Oklahoma State and Houston’s Clayton Tune.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. Over its time, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1.2 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.

In 1938, O’Brien, who wore No. 8 as a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955. For more information, visit

2022 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week Honorees
Week 1 (Sept. 3) – Anthony Richardson, Florida
Week 2 (Sept. 10) – Caleb Williams, USC
Week 3 (Sept. 17) – Michael Penix Jr., Washington
Week 4 (Sept. 24) – Adrian Martinez, Kansas State
Week 5 (Oct. 1) – Max Duggan, TCU
Week 6 (Oct. 8) – Dorian Thompson-Robinson, UCLA
Week 7 (Oct. 15) – Hendon Hooker, Tennessee & Cameron Rising, Utah
Week 8 (Oct. 22) – Jayden Daniels, LSU & Bo Nix, Oregon

American Airlines is the official travel partner of the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award
The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. Headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has awarded more than $1.2 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

Previous Davey O’Brien Award winners include: Jim McMahon (BYU, 1981), Todd Blackledge (Penn State, 1982), Steve Young (BYU, 1983), Doug Flutie (Boston College, 1984), Chuck Long (Iowa, 1985), Vinny Testaverde (Miami, 1986), Don McPherson (Syracuse, 1987), Troy Aikman (UCLA, 1988), Andre Ware (Houston, 1989), Ty Detmer (BYU, 1990-91), Gino Torretta (Miami, 1992), Charlie Ward (Florida State, 1993), Kerry Collins (Penn State, 1994), Danny Wuerffel (Florida, 1995-96), Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997), Michael Bishop (Kansas State, 1998), Joe Hamilton (Georgia Tech, 1999), Chris Weinke (Florida State, 2000), Eric Crouch (Nebraska, 2001), Brad Banks (Iowa, 2002), Jason White (Oklahoma, 2003-04), Vince Young (Texas, 2005), Troy Smith (Ohio State, 2006), Tim Tebow (Florida, 2007), Sam Bradford (Oklahoma, 2008), Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009), Cam Newton (Auburn, 2010), Robert Griffin III (Baylor, 2011), Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M, 2012), Jameis Winston (Florida State, 2013), Marcus Mariota (Oregon, 2014), Deshaun Watson (Clemson, 2015-16), Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma, 2017), Kyler Murray (Oklahoma, 2018), Joe Burrow (LSU, 2019), Mac Jones (Alabama, 2020) and Bryce Young (Alabama, 2021).

  • < PREV Volleyball: Pope John Paul II, John Curtis, Riverside Academy win Monday
  • NEXT > Southwest Sports Partners, LLC, begins operations in Texas