Eight quarterbacks named Manning Award Stars of the Week

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Manning Award

Fans Can Now Vote to Select Overall Manning Quarterback of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 13, 2023) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can follow the Manning Award on social media (@ManningAward) to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 9 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting. Since the Manning Award started recognizing Stars of the Week in 2011, 521 different quarterbacks from 133 schools have been recognized. Sixty players were honored during the 2022 season while 60 quarterbacks have been recognized so far this year.

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Joey Aguilar, Appalachian State (28-of-46, 318 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 80.1)

Aguilar connects on a 17-yard pass on the first play of overtime and then delivers the game-winning eight-yard touchdown pass as the Mountaineers upend undefeated No. 18 James Madison, 26-23, in a Sun Belt thriller.

Jayden Daniels, LSU (25-of-30, 509 total yards, 8 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.8)

Daniels, who records his second straight game with more than 500 yards of total offense, matches the school record with eight total touchdowns (on eight possessions) as he leads the Tiger to a one-sided 56-14 victory over Georgia State.

Garrett Greene, West Virginia (12-of-19, 364 total yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 98.7)

Green throws for 210 yards and a touchdown and runs for a career-best 154 yards and three scores as he becomes the second Mountaineer player to pass for 200 yards and run for 150 in leading West Virginia to a 42-21 Big 12 victory over Cincinnati.

Frank Harris, UTSA (31-of-46, 523 total yards, 6 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 92.4)

Harris, who leads the Roadrunners to their seventh straight victory and a school-record 643 yards of total offense, also sets the school individual record for total touchdowns (6 passing, 2 rushing) while leading UTSA to a 49-21 AAC win over South Florida.

Josh Hoover, TCU (24-of-29, 434 total yards, 3 TDs, QBR: 98.6)

Hoover, who posts his fourth 300-yard passing game (412) in five starts this year, throws for two touchdowns and adds his first career rushing TD as he leads the Horned Frogs to a 42-17 Big 12 victory over Baylor.

Bo Nix, Oregon (24-of-29, 404 yards, 6 TDs, QBR: 99.5)

Nix leads the Ducks to touchdowns on their first six possessions – all passing TDs by the quarterback – as Oregon jumps to a 42-0 halftime lead and then cruises in the second half for a 49-13 Pac-12 victory over Arizona State.

Andrew Peasley, Wyoming (14-of-17, 319 yards, 3 TDs, QBR: 95.1)

Peasley, who sets a career-best for passing yards and completion percentage, connects on first-half touchdown passes of 40 yards, 44 yards, and 89 yards as the Cowboys build a 35-0 lead and cruise to a 42-9 MW win over Hawai’i.

Jack Plummer, Louisville (24-of-37, 308 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 92.0)

Plummer, who completes passes to 12 different receivers, connects on a 58-yard touchdown pass with 4:17 to lift the Cardinals to a 38-31 ACC road win over Miami as Louisville clinches a spot on the ACC Championship game.

The Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List and then added 15 midseason additions to the Watch List on October 19th. Finalists will be named on November 30, and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 19 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 14 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Stetson Bennett, Bryce Young, Joe Burrow, Mac Jones, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) leads the way with eight Manning Award honorees, while the Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) has had five winners. The Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. Alabama (Bryce Young and Jones), LSU (Burrow and Russell), Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield), and Texas (McCoy and Vince Young) have each produced a pair of Manning Award winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

  • < PREV Santana Price of McDonogh 35 named GNO QB Club Prep Player of Week
  • NEXT > Larry Nance, Jr. and the Pelicans team up to tackle food insecurity in New Orleans