Dominican, Mt. Carmel, Hannan, E.D. White, Northlake Christian, Country Day advance to state volleyball finals

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

LHSAA Prep Volleyball Report for Saturday, Nov. 11

It was not easy but Dominican is back in the Division I state championship match in their quest for a fourth straight state title.

The top seed fought off a still challenge from No. 4 Slidell, winning 25-11, 25-27, 25-16, 26-24 at the Cajundome in Lafayette.

Dominican (42-2) advances to the final Saturday at 7 p.m. against third seed Dutchtown. Slidell finished its outstanding season 35-6.

Dominican will face a very familiar rival in Mount Carmel Academy.

No. 2 seeded Cubs whipped No. 3 Dutchtown 25-21, 25-21, 25-16.

The Cubs (26-7) were led by Julia Savois with 17 kills while Giselle Estrada had 11 kills. Emma Richey with 46 assists and Nola Sevin had 21 digs. Cady Kusie topped the Griffins with 8 kills and 18 digs.

Dominican downed Mount Carmel in last year’s title match and Dominican and Mount Carmel have combined to win the last nine Division I titles with the Cubs winning six straight between 2014-19.

In Division II, it will be another head-to-head matchup between district rivals St. Thomas More and Teurlings Catholic for the fourth straight year in the championship match

The two rivals who have dominated the division each advanced to the championship match in different fashion.

Top seed St. Thomas More beat No. 4 St. Scholastica 25-17, 25-21, 25-22.

The Cougars (33-5) were led by Rhyan Miciotto with 15 kills and 19 assists while Ava Roger had eight kills.

The third-seeded Rebels (30-12) outlasted second-seeded Ben Franklin 24-26, 25-17, 19-25, 25-22, 16-14. Dee Asberry led the Rebels with 20 kills while Lola Blancher had 18 kills and 21 digs and Charlie Boulet had 14 kills. Brooklyn Blanchard had 30 assists.

Cori Staes led the Falcons (36-8) with 21 kills and seven blocks while Aubrey Muirhead and Annika Roberson each had 16 kills.

St. Thomas More and Teurlings Catholic will meet at 4:30 p.m. Saturday.

In Division III, top-seeded Archbishop Hannan rolled over No. 4 Catholic of New Iberia 25-11, 25-15, 25-14.

The Hawks (40-2) were led by Miranda Holincheck with 13 kills and five aces. Reese Molbert had 16 digs and 11 assists for the Panthers (37-12).

Hannan will play No. 2 seed E.D. White Catholic in the championship match Saturday at 2 p.m.

The Cardinals (33-8) downed third seed Parkview Baptist 25-19, 25-22, 18-25, 25-19. Brightyn Ratcliff led E.D. White with 17 kills, Emory Frerret added 15 kills and Karsyn Breaux finished with 21 assists. Jana Thymes topped the Eagles (32-8) with 17 kills and eight blocks.

In Division IV, No. 5 Notre Dame upset top seed and defending state champion Newman 26-24, 25-21, 23-25, 25-18. Valerie Brown led the Pios with 14 kills, 22 digs and 2.5 blocks while Annalise Maloz had 14 kills. Caroline Beahm led the Greenies (36-8) with 15 kills while Catherine Lapeyre had 41 assists.

The Pios (28-16) will meet No. 3 Northlake Christian in the title match Saturday at 11:30 a.m.

The Wolverines (34-7) defeated No. 2 John Curtis Christian 22-25, 25-17, 16-25, 26-24, 15-10. Abigail Bailey did a tremendous job, nailing 33 kills. John Curtis ends its season 33-9.

In Division V, seven-time defending state champion and top seed Country Day handled No. 4 Central Catholic 25-18, 25-7, 25-13. Gigi Dazet had 10 kills while Maggie Schneider had 33 assists.

The Cajuns (26-9) advance to the final Saturday at 9 a.m. to face No. 2 Westminster Christian, who defeated No. 3 Ascension Episcopal 25-18, 25-20, 28-30, 25-22.

  • < PREV Salmen defeats West Ouachita for first playoff win in six years
  • NEXT > De La Salle blanks Buckeye for first round win

Ken Trahan


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Born and raised in the New Orleans area, CCSE CEO Ken Trahan has been a sports media fixture in the community for nearly four decades. Ken started with Bill Hammack and Don Jones in 2008. In 2011, the site became On August 1, 2017, Ken helped launch Having accumulated national awards/recognition (National Sports Media Association, National Football…

Read more >