Twenty-eight awards to be presented at Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Banquet

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Devin White

NEW ORLEANS – The Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Banquet will feature the presentation of 28 awards, including four inductees into the Hall of Fame and the male and female Corbett Award winners as the top amateur athletes in the state of Louisiana. The sold-out event will be held Saturday, August 10, at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome.

Corbett Awards

Male: Devin White, LSU Football

Female: Sarah Finnegan, LSU Gymnastics

Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame

Ed Reed (Football; Destrehan H.S./U. of Miami/NFL, 1994-2013)

Jim Robarts (Basketball Coach; Archbishop Rummel H.S./East Jefferson H.S., 1969-2018)

Pat Swilling (Football; New Orleans Saints, 1986-98)

Billy Truax (Football; Holy Cross/LSU/NFL, 1957-73)

Eddie Robinson Award

Younne Reid, SUNO Track & Field

Jimmy Collins Awards

Conner Killian, Louisiana Tech Track & Field

Joe Scheuermann, Delgado Baseball

Annual Awards

Outstanding Girls’ Prep Coach, New Orleans: April Hagadone (Mount Carmel Volleyball)

Outstanding Boys’ Prep Coach, New Orleans: Wayne Stein (St. Charles Catholic Baseball)

Outstanding Female Amateur, New Orleans: Ellie Holzman (Mount Carmel Volleyball)

Outstanding Male Amateur, New Orleans: Kody Hoese (Tulane Baseball)

Outstanding Boys’ Prep Team, New Orleans: Edna Karr Football

Outstanding Girls’ Prep Team, New Orleans: St. Scholastica Soccer

Outstanding College Coach, Louisiana: D-D Breaux (LSU Gymnastics)

Greater New Orleans Amateur Athletes of the Month

June, 2018: Aleia Hobbs (LSU Track & Field)

July, 2018: Charles Korndorffer (Nu Wave Swim Club)

August, 2018: Brandon Briuglio (New Orleans Boosters Baseball)

September, 2018: Justin Ibieta (Country Day Football)

October, 2018: Martin Butcher (Jesuit Football)

November, 2018: Ashaad Clayton (Warren Easton Football)

December, 2018: Elijah Morgan (Jesuit Basketball)

January, 2019: Zach Wrightsil (Loyola Basketball)

February, 2019: Perry Ganci (Jesuit Wrestling)

March, 2019: Alex Davis (Holy Cross Power Lifting)

April, 2019: Kody Hoese (Tulane Baseball)

May, 2019: Mary Nusloch (Sacred Heart Track & Field)

The Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Committee began in 1957 when James Collins spearheaded a group of sports journalists to form a sports awards committee to immortalize local sports history. For 13 years, the committee honored local athletes each month. In 1970, the Sugar Bowl stepped in to sponsor and revitalize the committee, leading to the creation of the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame in 1971, honoring 10 legends from the Crescent City in its first induction class. While adding the responsibility of selecting Hall of Famers, the committee has continued to recognize the top amateur athlete in the Greater New Orleans area each month – the honors enter their 63rd year in 2019. To be eligible, an athlete must be a native of the greater New Orleans area or must compete for a team in the metropolitan region.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 93 Hall of Fame players, 50 Hall of Fame coaches and 18 Heisman Trophy winners in its 85-year history. The 86th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, featuring top teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, will be played on January 1, 2020. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.6 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors nearly 100,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.5 billion into the local economy in the last decade. For more information, visit

  • < PREV Ouachita Christian poised for run at a state title in 2019
  • NEXT > Former Techsters standout Kierra Anthony signs to play basketball overseas