Southland announces men’s golf academic postseason honors

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

FRISCO, Texas – UIW’s John Hill is the 2019-20 Southland Conference Men’s Golf Student-Athlete of the Year, the league announced Wednesday alongside its academic all-conference teams. Student-Athlete of the Year awards are presented by GEICO.

Hill was awarded Student-Athlete of the Year honors in addition to earning a spot on the first team for the second-consecutive year. He completed the 2019-20 season with four top-10 individual performances, while never finishing outside of the top-25 throughout six tournament appearances for the Cardinals. Hill earned a spot on the dean’s list for fall 2019 and holds a 3.65 GPA as a senior management major.

UIW and Lamar lead the way among the academic all-conference squads with two selections each. Hill is joined on the first team by teammate Trevor Bailey, while Lamar’s Hugo Hellman and Nikolai Schaffrath earned second-team honors. A total of nine schools are represented among the 2019-20 Academic All-Conference rosters.

Abilene Christian’s Bryce Dooley, Central Arkansas’ Brett Daughdrill and New Orleans’ Max Hellstrom round out the first-team members. Houston Baptist’s Lucas Coapman, McNeese’s Reid Giardina, Sam Houston State’s William Holcomb and Stephen F. Austin’s Johannes Gudmundsson join Hellman and Schaffrath to fill out the remaining second-team positions.

The all-academic teams are voted on by a head coach, sports information director and academic/compliance staff member from each Southland Conference institution. In order to be nominated for the academic all-conference teams, student-athletes must possess a 3.0 cumulative GPA and have completed one full academic year at the nominating institution.

The Southland Conference awards committee, which consists of one administrator from each of the 13 member schools, votes for the student-athlete of the year. The Southland Student-Athlete of the Year award is presented to one student-athlete who achieves excellence in both academics and athletics. All Student-Athlete of the Year nominees must have earned at least a 3.2 GPA on a 4.0 scale and demonstrated athletics achievement for at least two years at the nominating institution.

2019-20 Southland Men’s Golf All-Academic Team

Student-Athlete of the Year: John Hill, UIW

First Team

Name Cl. School Hometown Major GPA
Bryce Dooley3 Sr. Abilene Christian Friendswood, Texas Finance & Accounting 3.70
Brett Daughdrill So. Central Arkansas Jonesboro, Ark. Undeclared 4.0
Trevor Bailey2 Jr. UIW Cibolo, Texas Accounting 4.0
John Hill2 Sr. UIW McQueeney, Texas Management 3.66
Max Hellstrom2 Sr. New Orleans Stockholm, Sweden Business Administration 3.72

Second Team

Name Cl. School Hometown Major GPA
Lucas Coapman R-Sr. Houston Baptist New Brunswick, N.J. Management 4.0
Hugo Hellman So. Lamar Salem, Sweden Finance 3.60
Nikolai Schaffrath2 Jr. Lamar Potsdam, Germany Industrial Engineering 3.92
Reid Giardina Jr. McNeese Sulphur, La. Accounting 3.89
William Holcomb3 Sr. Sam Houston State Crockett, Texas General Business 3.48
Johannes Gudmundsson So. Stephen F. Austin Reykjavik, Iceland Engineering Physics 3.85

– Two-time Academic All-Conference selection
– Three-time Academic All-Conference selection

  • < PREV LSU baseball in good shape despite six transfers
  • NEXT > Monday Night Futbol: April 27, 2020