LSU to face Yale as No. 3 seed early Thursday in NCAA Tournament

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Tremont Waters, LSU vs. Auburn
(Photo: Stephen Lew)

LSU will play Yale in the first round of the NCAA Tournament.

The Tigers, regular season champions of the SEC, are the No. 3 seed in the East Regional while No. 14 seed Yale beat Harvard in the Ivy League Tournament title game Sunday, 97-85.

Without suspended head coach Will Wade, LSU fell to Florida in the SEC Tournament quarterfinals Friday.

Duke and Michigan St. are the top two seeds in LSU’s regional.

2019 NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament (printable bracket pdf)

Tuesday, March 19 — First Four

TIP TIME GAME View Location
6:40 p.m. (16) Prairie View A&M vs. (16) Fairleigh Dickinson truTV Dayton I
After Gm. I (11) Temple vs. (11) Belmont truTV Dayton II

Wednesday, March 20 — First Four

TIME GAME View Location
6:40 p.m. (16) NC Central vs. (16) North Dakota St. truTV Dayton I
After Gm. I (11) St. John’s vs. (11) Arizona St. truTV Dayton II

Thursday, March 21 — First Round

TIME GAME View Location
12:15 p.m. (10) Minnesota vs. (7) Louisville CBS Des Moines
12:40 p.m. (14) Yale vs. (3) LSU truTV Jacksonville I
1:30 p.m. (12) New Mexico St. vs. (5) Auburn TNT Salt Lake City I
2 p.m. (13) Vermont vs. (4) Florida St. TBS Hartford I
After Gm. I (15) Bradley vs. (2) Michigan St. CBS Des Moines II
After Gm. I (11) Temple/Belmont vs. (6) Maryland truTV Jacksonville II
After Gm. I (13) Northeastern vs. (4) Kansas TNT Salt Lake City II
After Gm. I (12) Murray St. vs. (5) Marquette TBS Hartford II
6:50 p.m. (10) Florida vs. (7) Nevada TNT Des Moines III
7:10 p.m. (15) Abilene Christian vs. (2) Kentucky CBS Jacksonville III
7:20 p.m. (11) Saint Mary’s vs. (6) Villanova TBS Hartford III
7:27 p.m. (16) Prairie View / Fairleigh vs. (1) Gonzaga truTV Salt Lake City III
After Gm. III (15) Montana vs. (2) Michigan TNT Des Moines IV
After Gm. III (10) Seton Hall vs. (7) Wofford CBS Jacksonville IV
After Gm. III (14) Old Dominion vs. (3) Purdue TBS Hartford IV
After Gm. III (9) Baylor vs. (8) Syracuse truTV Salt Lake City IV

Friday, March 22 — First Round

TIME GAME View Location
12:15 p.m. (10) Iowa vs. (7) Cincinnati CBS Columbus I
12:40 p.m. (9) Oklahoma vs. (8) Ole Miss truTV Columbia I
1:30 p.m. (14) Northern Kentucky vs. (3) Texas Tech TNT Tulsa I
2 p.m. (13) UC Irvine vs. (4) Kansas St. TBS San Jose I
After Gm. I (15) Colgate vs. (2) Tennessee CBS Columbus II
After Gm. I (16) Gardner-Webb vs. (1) Virginia truTV Columbia II
After Gm. I (11) St. John’s / Arizona St. vs. (6) Buffalo TNT Tulsa II
After Gm. I (12) Oregon vs. (5) Wisconsin TBS San Jose II
6:50 p.m. (9) Washington vs. (8) Utah St. TNT Columbus III
7:10 p.m. (16) NC Central / North Dakota St. vs. (1) Duke CBS Columbia III
7:20 p.m. (14) Georgia St. vs. (3) Houston TBS Tulsa III
7:27 p.m. (12) Liberty vs. (5) Mississippi St. truTV San Jose III
After Gm. III (16) Iona vs. (1) North Carolina TNT Columbus IV
After Gm. III (9) UCF vs. (8) VCU CBS Columbia IV
After Gm. III (11) Ohio St. vs. (6) Iowa St. TBS Tulsa IV
After Gm. III (13) Saint Louis vs. (4) Virginia Tech truTV San Jose IV

Saturday, March 23
Second round: Hartford, Salt Lake City, Des Moines, Jacksonville

Sunday, March 24
Second round: Tulsa, Columbus, Columbia, San Jose

Thursday, March 28
Sweet 16: Louisville, Anaheim

Friday, March 29
Sweet 16: Washington, D,C., Kansas City

Saturday, March 30
Elite Eight: Louisville, Anaheim

Sunday, March 31
Elite Eight: Washington, D.C., Kansas City

Saturday, April 6
Final Four: Minneapolis
CBS — Jim Nantz / Bill Raftery / Grant Hill // Tracy Wolfson

Monday, April 8
National Championship Game: Minneapolis
CBS — Jim Nantz / Bill Raftery / Grant Hill // Tracy Wolfson

  • < PREV Tulane claims series with 10-0 win over UC Riverside
  • NEXT > Battery powers Demons to series-clinching win against Privateers