Louisiana Tech athletics celebrates Winter quarter graduates

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
The second of two Winter 2021 Commencement ceremonies is held at 12:00 p.m. on March 6, for the College of Applied and Natural Sciences, the College of Education, and the College of Liberal Arts in the Thomas Assembly Center. Photo by Emerald McIntyre/Louisiana Tech University

RUSTON, La. – Louisiana Tech athletic teams recorded a number of wins in various competitions over the past weekend, but the most important victory came on the biggest stage.

Louisiana Tech athletics saw 11 student-athletes receive their degrees Saturday as they walked across the graduation stage during winter quarter commencement exercises at the Thomas Assembly Center.

“Student-athletes earning their college degree is always the biggest victory,” said Louisiana Tech VP and Director of Athletics Eric Wood. “We strive to win championships on the fields of play, but winning in the classroom is ultimately what it is all about. I am proud of the 11 student-athletes who recorded their biggest win of their college careers on Saturday.”

Louisiana Tech’s winter quarter graduates were: Ezekiel Barnett (football/biology), Jaiden Cole (football/sociology), Justin Henderson (football/sociology), Kollin Hurt (football/marketing), Carter Mirich (volleyball, psychology), Claudia Oravcova (tennis/management), Jacolby Pemberton (men’s basketball/sociology), Audrey Pickett (softball/sociology), Israel Tucker (football/health & physical education grade K-12), Molly Watkins (volleyball/business administration) and Hunter Wells (baseball/Master of Business Administration). Watkins graduated cum laude honors.

In addition to the 11 graduates, Tech saw 117 student-athletes meet the academic requirements for the Dean’s List honors and 42 that met the academic requirements for the President’s List. Tech also boasted 57 student-athletes who earned a 4.0 GPA during the 2021 quarter.

Twenty-two LA Tech student-athletes own a cumulative 4.0 GPA, including Korie Allensworth (women’s basketball), Madalena Amil (tennis), Reeves Blankenship (football), Bailey Botkin (soccer), Kaitlyn Eder (bowling), Olivia Ellingson (softball), Callie Ezell (women’s cross country), Annamari Farrar (women’s track and field), Maci Geltmeier (soccer), Zach Hannibal (football), Sara Howell-Floyd (bowling), Mason Kelley (baseball), Hannah Koenig (softball), Jacquelin Laberteaux (women’s cross country), Leonie Machauer (soccer), Lauren Menzina (softball), Joshua Mote (football), Joshua Raiford (men’s cross country), Tara Spridco (bowling), Lara Unkovich (tennis), Alpine Williams (soccer) and Ainsley Yanz (volleyball).

  • < PREV Tulane defeats Temple in AAC Women’s Basketball Championship quarterfinals, 83-73
  • NEXT > McNeese to allow 50 percent capacity at athletic events