GCAC announces 2023 Volleyball All-Conference teams, preseason poll

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

NEW ORLEANS – The Gulf Coast Athletic Conference (GCAC) has unveiled 2023 Preseason Volleyball All-GCAC Team and Preseason Team Rankings, as voted on by GCAC volleyball coaches. Points are derived by the order each coach ranks the players and teams.

Leading the pack is the 2022 GCAC Player of the Year, Jordan Johnson of Philander Smith University. During the 2022 campaign, Johnson, who had 46 points in this year’s preseason rankings, amassed 265 kills, 104 blocks, and 368.5 total points. Joining Johnson on the 2023 Preseason All-GCAC Team are:

  • Jadyn Brackins of Fisk University: 2022 GCAC Defender of the Year
  • Taylor Hurst of Dillard University: 2022 All-GCAC First Team
  • Essence Wren of Philander Smith University: 2022 GCAC Freshman of the Year and Setter of the Year
  • Trinity Crawford of Fisk University: 2022 All-GCAC Second
  • Chasry Lum-King of Dillard University: 2022 All-GCAC Second Team member
  • Nedu Evans of Talladega College: Led the Tornadoes in kills during the 2022 campaign

The GCAC also released 2023 Volleyball Preseason Rankings, determined by the conference coaches. Last year’s regular season champs and runners up flipped positions in the 2023 preseason rankings as defending GCAC Tournament Champion Philander Smith University was tabbed to take the 2023 regular season title, and the Bleu Devils were selected as runners up:

  1. Philander Smith (88)
  2. Dillard
  3. Fisk
  4. Talladega
  5. Wiley
  6. Rust
  7. Tougaloo
  8. Oakwood
  9. SUNO

Fans can follow the 2023 action on HBCU+. Download the app in the Android/Apple app stores for free. Tickets are now on sale for the 2023 GCAC Volleyball Championship. The championship will be held at Bossier Parish Community College in Bossier City, with 2023 action unfolding November 5-7. Tournament passes and single-day tickets are available online at bit.ly/2023-gcac-vb.

For more information and updates, please visit the GCAC official website at www.gcacports.com.

  • < PREV LA Tech tight end Nate Jones named to 2023 Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List
  • NEXT > Eight Ragin' Cajuns legends to enter school's athletics hall of fame in 2023