Eight quarterbacks named Manning Award Stars of the Week

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Manning Award QBs of the Week

Fans Can Now Vote to Select Overall Manning Quarterback of the Week

NEW ORLEANS – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can follow the Manning Award on social media (@ManningAward) to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 9 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week. 


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting. Since the Manning Award started recognizing Stars of the Week in 2011, 491 different quarterbacks from 132 schools have been recognized. Sixty players from 58 different schools were honored during the 2022 season.

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

J.T. Daniels, Rice (28-of-42, 401 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 66.2)
Daniels, who matches his career-high for passing yards, leads Rice to a 43-41 overtime defeat of crosstown rival Houston, the Owls’ first Power 5 win since 2013.

Quinn Ewers, Texas (24-of-38, 349 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 79.6)
Ewers leads Texas to its first road win over an AP top-three team since 1969 as the Longhorns upend No. 3 Alabama, 34-24, to snap the Crimson Tide’s 21-game home winning streak.

Sam Hartman, Notre Dame (15-of-24, 286 yards, 4 TDs, QBR: 89.8)
Hartman connects on three second-half touchdowns as they Fighting Irish pull away from N.C. State for a 45-24 victory on the road.

Bo Nix, Oregon (32-of-44, 359 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 80.9)
Nix, who completes passes to nine different receivers, also adds a critical 13-yard run on a third-and-11 with his team down nine as rallies the Ducks from a 27-18 deficit as they pick up a 38-30 non-conference road win over Texas Tech.

Michael Penix Jr., Washington (28-of-38, 409 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 91.7)
Penix, who tallies his sixth career 400-yard game, completes passes to 10 different receivers in a 43-10 home win over Tulsa.

Shedeur Sanders, Colorado (31-of-42, 393 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 83.7)
Sanders, who also adds a rushing touchdown, leads the Buffaloes to 318 yards and 23 points in the second half as they pull away from Nebraska, 36-14, at home.

Tyler Van Dyke, Miami (21-of-30, 374 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 87.0)
Van Dyke, who connects on a pair of fourth-quarter TDs to help the Hurricanes clinch victory, becomes the first Miami quarterback to throw five touchdowns against a Top-25 team as he leads the Canes to a 48-33 upset of No. 23 Texas A&M.

Caleb Williams, USC (19-of-21, 281 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 92.1)
Williams, who only plays one half, adds a rushing touchdown to lead the Trojans to a 49-point first half as they roll to a Pac-12 victory over Stanford.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. Ten finalists will be selected and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 19 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 14 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Stetson Bennett, Bryce Young, Joe Burrow, Mac Jones, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) leads the way with eight Manning Award honorees, while the Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) has had five winners. The Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. Alabama (Bryce Young and Jones), LSU (Burrow and Russell), Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield), and Texas (McCoy and Vince Young) have each produced a pair of Manning Award winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

  • < PREV UIW duo, Nicholls' Lasseigne earn Southland Football Player of the Week honors
  • NEXT > Strong start for Grupe highlights Saints, Broncos comparisons through one week