Burrow, Delpit, Cushenberry to represent LSU at SEC Media Days

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Lloyd Cushenberry, Joe Burrow

BATON ROUGE – LSU head coach Ed Orgeron will be joined by quarterback Joe Burrow, center Lloyd Cushenberry and All-America defensive back Grant Delpit when the Tigers take their turn at SEC Media Day next Monday in Hoover, Ala.., the league office announced on Wednesday.

SEC Media Days begin on the morning of Monday, July 15 and runs through Thursday, July 18. LSU will be paired with Florida for the afternoon session on Monday.

Orgeron, who enters his third full season as head coach of the Tigers, guided LSU to a 10-3 overall mark and a No. 6 final ranking a year ago. LSU beat previously undefeated and No. 7 UCF in the Fiesta Bowl for its first New Year’s Six bowl victory since the new format was adopted in 2014. The Tigers also had their first 10-win season since 2013 and its first Top 10 final ranking since 2011.

Burrow, LSU’s returning starter at quarterback, is coming off a record-setting season, one that saw him set school marks for plays in a season (507), rushing TDs by a quarterback in a season (7), consecutive passes without an interception (158), pass attempts in a season (379), touchdowns responsible for in a game (6 vs. Texas A&M), and passing touchdowns in a bowl game (4 vs. UCF).

Burrow is also the first player in LSU history to throw for at least 2,500 yards and rush for at least 350 yards in a season. Last year, Burrow threw for 2,894 yards and rushed for 399 yards.

Delpit is coming off an outstanding sophomore season as he became just the ninth unanimous All-America in school history. Delpit led the SEC in interceptions (5) and finished second in the league in passes defended (14) a year ago.

The junior from Houston has already been named to several preseason All-America teams heading into 2019.

Cushenberry enters his second season as LSU’s starting center after serving in that capacity for all 13 games a year ago. Cushenberry was one of only four offensive players to start every game in 2018.

Cushenberry enters 2019 as a candidate for the Rimington Award, which is presented annually to college football’s top center.

2019 Football Media Days Student-Athlete Attendees

Jerry Jeudy, WR, Jr.
Dylan Moses, LB, Jr.
Tua Tagovailoa, QB, Jr.

McTelvin Agim, DL, Sr.
De’Jon Harris, LB, Sr.
Devwah Whaley, RB, Sr.

Derrick Brown, DT, Sr.
Marlon Davidson, DE, Sr.
Prince Tega Wanogho, OL, Sr.

Feleipe Franks, QB, Jr.
Lamical Perine, RB, Sr.
Jabari Zuniga, DL, Sr.

Jake Fromm, QB, Jr.
J.R. Reed, DB, Sr.
Andrew Thomas, OL, Jr.

Lynn Bowden Jr., ATH, Jr.
Kash Daniel, LB, Sr.
Logan Stenberg, OL, Sr.

Joe Burrow, QB, Sr.
Grant Delpit, DB, Jr.
Lloyd Cushenberry, C, Jr.

Ole Miss
Matt Corral, QB, Fr.
Alex Givens, OL, Sr.
MoMo Sanogo, LB, Jr.

Mississippi State
Farrod Green, TE, Sr.
Erroll Thompson, LB, Jr.
Darryl Williams, C, Sr.

Kelly Bryant, QB, Sr.
Cale Garrett, LB, Sr.
DeMarkus Acy, CB, Sr.

South Carolina
Jake Bentley, QB, Sr.
T.J. Brunson, LB, Sr.
Bryan Edwards, WR, Sr.

Daniel Bituli, LB, Sr.
Jarrett Guarantano, QB, Jr.
Darrell Taylor, LB, Sr.

Texas A&M
Kellen Mond, QB, Jr.
Justin Madubuike, DL, Jr.
Braden Mann, P, Sr.

Kalija Lipscomb, WR, Sr.
Jared Pinkney, TE, Sr.
Ke’Shawn Vaughn, RB, Sr.

  • < PREV Speed Kills: The fastest players in FBS for 2019
  • NEXT > Demons add FBS transfers from BYU, Texas Tech and Florida