Bryce Washington named to Lou Henson All-America team

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Bryce Washington
(Photo: Brad Kemp)

BOSTON – Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns men’s basketball player Bryce Washington was one of 40 players named to the 2017-18 Lou Henson All-America team that was announced on Wednesday.

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the nation’s top Division I mid-major player.

Washington, a senior from New Orleans (St. Augustine HS), averaged a double-double for Louisiana during the 2017-18 season with 10.4 points and a team-high 10.5 rebounds per game. The first-team All-Sun Belt Conference selection finished his career as one of four players in both school and SBC history to score 1,000 points and grab 1,000 rebounds in a career, while finishing as one of five Division I players to average a double-double during the past two seasons.

During the season, Washington finished 11th in the league in steals (1.3) and recorded 13 double-doubles. He scored a season-high 21 points against Savannah State and grabbed a season-high 19 rebounds in the Ragin’ Cajuns SBC opener at Little Rock.

Washington finished among the active NCAA Division I leaders in rebounds (1,102), double-doubles (38), rebound average (8.1) and field goal percentage (.571).

Lou Henson coached 41 years. When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.

The 2017-18 Lou Henson National Player of the Year Award will be announced on April 2 in San Antonio, site of the men’s NCAA Basketball Championship.


Trae Bell-Haynes, Vermont
Bogdan Bliznyuk, Eastern Washington
Desonta Bradford, ETSU
Keith Braxton, Saint Francis PA
Tookie Brown, Georgia Southern
Joe Chealey, Charleston
Chris Clemons, Campbell
Clayton Custer, Loyola Chicago
Mike Daum, South Dakota State
Tre-Shaun Fletcher, Toledo
Blake Francis, Wagner
Jerrick Harding, Weber State
Brandon Goodwin, FGCU
Max Heidegger, UC Santa Barbara
Kevin Hervey, UT Arlington
Jordan Howard, Central Arkansas
John Konchar, Fort Wayne
Nathan Knight, William & Mary
Jock Landale, Saint Mary’s
Zach Lofton, New Mexico State
Jairus Lyles, UMBC
Fletcher Magee, Wofford
CJ Massinburg, Buffalo
Garrison Mathews, Lipscomb
Drew McDonald, Northern Kentucky
Matt Mooney, South Dakota
Matt Morgan, Cornell
Kendrick Nunn, Oakland
Vasa Pusica, Northeastern
Grant Riller, Charleston
Junior Robinson, Mount St. Mary’s
Devin Sibley, Furman
D’Marcus Simonds, Georgia State
Andre Spight, Northern Colorado
Jonathan Stark, Murray State
Zach Thomas, Bucknell
James Thompson IV, Eastern Michigan
Seth Towns, Harvard
Reed Timmer, Drake
Bryce Washington, Louisiana

  • < PREV Rusty Staub sprouted from New Orleans roots to enjoy successful MLB career
  • NEXT > Nicholls junior Cassidy Barrios named Southland Women’s Basketball Student-Athlete of the Year