Allstate Sugar Bowl announces week three Manning Award Futures

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Cole Milford

Four Nola area QBs honored as Quarterbacks of the Week; fans can vote for favorite on Twitter

NEW ORLEANS – The Allstate Sugar Bowl has announced this week’s Manning Award Futures – four local high school quarterbacks who turned in outstanding performances on the football field this past weekend. Fans now have the opportunity to go to Twitter (@SugarBowlNola) to vote for their favorite performance of the week.


The Manning Award, which recognizes the top collegiate quarterback in the nation on an annual basis, was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. For the past decade, the Sugar Bowl and the Manning Award have recognized top collegiate quarterbacks on a weekly basis.

Manning Award Futures – High School QBs of the Week, 10/19/20:

Marcus Jackson, East St. John (12-of-14, 207 yards, 3 TDs)
Jackson leads the Wildcats to TDs on three of their first possessions as they top Hahnville, 38-16, in a showdown of last year’s District 7-5A co-champions.

Arch Manning, Newman (21-of-27, 241 yards, TD)
Manning, only a sophomore, accounted for three total touchdowns despite playing under the pressure of a national TV game on ESPN2 as the Greenies pulled away from Booker T. Washington, 55-22.

Cole Milford, De La Salle (13-of-18, 267 yards, 5 TDs)
Milford led the Cavaliers to scores on their first seven possessions as they rolled to a 49-13 victory over Lakeshore to avenged last year’s three-TD loss to the Titans.

Anterious “AJ” Samuel, Karr (14-of-21, 185 yards, 3 TDs)
Samuel, a sophomore who also ran for 115 yards and a TD, connected on a pair of TD passes in the final 3:22 as the Cougars won a hard-fought back-and-forth battle with John Curtis, 36-33.

Brother Martin’s Garrett Mmahat was the week two winner as nearly 1,700 fans voted in the poll. Mmahat completed 15-of-22 passes for 330 yards, including a pair of touchdowns on 80 and 95 yards, while also rushing for 72 yards. He directed a game-winning 72-yard drive in the final four minutes of the 45-42 victory over Jesuit.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 96 Hall of Fame players, 50 Hall of Fame coaches and 18 Heisman Trophy winners in its 86-year history. The 86th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, which will double as a College Football Playoff Semifinal, is scheduled to be played on January 1, 2021. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.6 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors thousands of student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.7 billion into the local economy in the last decade. For more information, visit

  • < PREV Friedman, Cressend, Gomes, Johns, Loup bring Tulane bond into Dodgers-Rays World Series
  • NEXT > Ex-New Orleans Zephyrs coach Jim Hickey hired as pitching coach of Washington Nationals