Allstate Sugar Bowl Announces Latest Manning Award Futures 11-22-2022

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Manning prep QB stars

Four Nola area QBs spotlighted by the Sugar Bowl; fans can vote for favorite on Twitter

NEW ORLEANS – The Allstate Sugar Bowl has announced this week’s Manning Award Futures – four local high school quarterbacks who turned in outstanding performances on the football field this past weekend. Fans now have the opportunity to go to Twitter (@SugarBowlNola) to vote for their favorite performance of the week.


The Manning Award, which recognizes the top collegiate quarterback in the nation on an annual basis, was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning.

Manning Award Futures – High School QBs of the Week, 11/22/22:

Dagan Bruno, John Curtis Christian (6-of-9, 189 total yards, 4 TDs)
Bruno passed for 149 yards and two touchdowns and ran for 40 yards and two more scores to lead No. 3 John Curtis to a 35-7 victory over No. 19 Jesuit in a Division I select playoff game at Joe Yenni Stadium.

Jayce Lacava, Archbishop Shaw (4-of-5, 161 total yards, 4 TDs)
Lacava passed for 86 yards and two scores while running for 61 yards and two more TDs to lead the seventh-seeded Eagles to their eighth straight win, a 42-6 decision over No. 10 Livingston Collegiate at Zimmerman Stadium in a Division II select playoff game.

AJ Samuel, Edna Karr (4-of-6, 116 yards, 1 TD)
Despite battling a shoulder injury, Samuel came off the bench in the third quarter and directed the seventh-seeded Cougars to three fourth-quarter touchdowns in a 34-26 win over No. 10 Scotlandville in a Division I select playoff game at Behrman Stadium.

Sam Willie, Lakeshore (16-of-26, 221 yards, 4 TDs)
With his 14th-seeded Titans trailing 34-20 with 6:41 to go, Willie connected on a 38-yard touchdown pass, then directed another TD drive as Lakeshore shocked No. 3 Opelousas on the road in a Division II non-select playoff game, 35-34.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 100 Hall of Fame players, 51 Hall of Fame coaches and 20 Heisman Trophy winners in its 88-year history. The 89th annual Sugar Bowl Classic is scheduled to be played on Saturday, December 31, 2022. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards, scholarships and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors thousands of student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.2 billion into the local economy in the last decade. For more information, visit

  • < PREV The Starting 11 -- NFL celebrates Madden's incomparable legacy
  • NEXT > Miller leads LSU past Akron in Cayman Islands Classic