Westcott, Monica, St. James take home top honors at Greater New Orleans QB Club awards

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Christian Westcott Lakeshore

In a year where there were many superb individual performances, great coaching jobs and outstanding team accomplishments, The Greater New Orleans Quarterback Club announced its year-end award winners at the final meeting of 2019 for the 81st year of the organization Tuesday.

Lakeshore star Christian Westcott, Archbishop Rummel head coach Nick Monica and St. James High were the recipients of the biggest awards, sponsored by the R&L Carriers New Orleans Bowl.

A senior, Westcott received the Ronald E. Gardner award as the Most Valuable Player in the metro area.

Westcott completed 151-of-276 passes (55%) for 2,790 with 35 touchdowns and seven interceptions. He rushed 201 times for 1,367 yards and 38 touchdowns. Wesctott had a pair of two-point conversions and punted 20 times for an average of 34 yards. On defense, he was in on 31 tackles, 19.5 for loss with 6.5 sacks. He added five hurries, five pass break-ups, an interception, four forced fumbles a fumble recovery and a touchdown, giving him 74 total touchdowns and 522 total points.

Westcott led his team to a perfect 10-0 season, the No. 1 seed in the Class 4A state playoffs and took Lakeshore to the state semifinals. He was named the District 8-4A Player of the Year and was named the Gatorade Louisiana Football Player of the Year.

Westcott credited his parents for his success as well as Lakeshore head coach Craig Jones.

“Everybody on my team is a reflection of the award,’ Westcott said. “The O-Line, they got better every week. Without them, the numbers I put up would not be possible. Our coaches took us by the reins this year and kind of let us do our thing. It turned out well. I couldn’t be more proud of my team and how they fought all year.”

In his first year as head coach at Archbishop Rummel, Monica guided the Raiders to a perfect 13-0 record and the Division I state championship, beating Catholic High of Baton Rouge 14-10 in the title game. Rummel is ranked 10th in the nation by USA Today.

“It’s been an awesome season,” Monica said. “Our senior class was motivated from Day 1. They had a ton to do with this. Guys like Donovan Kaufman, you couldn’t ask for a better senior class in year one. Our staff did a great job. They work hard. We have some young guys on staff and I suddenly feel like the old guy in the room.”

St. James wins Class 3A football

St. James earned Team of the Year honors after posting a perfect 15-0 record, culminating with a resounding 51-17 victory over Jennings in the Class 3A state championship game, the first state title in 40 years. Head coach Robert Valdez was thrilled with the honor.

“I got the job four years ago at St. James and we’ve had a great run,” Valdez said. “We have a great community that epitomizes small town football. We were one this year. Our slogan was ‘it’s our time.’ We played a tremendous schedule with a lot of great teams and a lot of great coaches. I’m so thankful to our coaching staff. They are as good as any in the country.”

A total of 15 players from area schools were named Players of the Week and were honored at the meeting

They included Westcott, Kaufman of Rummel, Will Sheppard of Mandeville, Justin Ibieta of Country Day, Corey Warren of Pearl River, Isaiah Lee of East Jefferson, Darryle Evans of Hahnville, Collin Guggenheim of John Curtis Christian, Harlan Dixon of Slidell, Gage Larvadain of Riverside, Edgerrin Cooper of Covington, Steveland Williams of McDonogh 35, Leonard Kelly of Edna Karr, Ashaad Clayton of Warren Easton and Shamar Smith of St. James.

Home Bank, The King Firm, the R&L Carriers New Orleans Bowl, the Saints Hall of Fame Museum, Rock’n’Bowl and Ye Olde College Inn served as sponsors of this year’s Greater New Orleans Quarterback Club. See all the videos from the awards luncheon on the official online home of the GNO QB Club.

  • < PREV Burkhalter, Laiche garner AP FCS All-America First Team honors
  • NEXT > McNeese ineligible for postseason football in 2020 due to low APR
Ken Trahan

Ken Trahan

Chief Executive Officer

Born and raised in the New Orleans area, CCSE CEO Ken Trahan has been a sports media fixture in the community for nearly four decades. Ken started NewOrleans.com/Sports with Bill Hammack and Don Jones in 2008. In 2011, the site became SportsNOLA.com. On August 1, 2017, Ken helped launch CrescentCitySports.com. Having accumulated national awards/recognition (National Sports Media Association, National Football…

Read more >