West Virginia’s Will Grier earns Manning Award Quarterback of the Week

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Will Grier

Will Grier, a senior from West Virginia University, has been selected as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week. He earns the win over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Facebook contest.

Grier completed 19-of-25 passes for 352 yards and five touchdowns, four in the first half, as the Mountaineers jumped to a big lead against East Carolina and finished with a 56-20 victory. This is Grier’s second win in the Manning Award Facebook contest, his first coming in 2015 when he was with the Florida Gators.

He has been named Big 12 Newcomer of the Week for the second straight week and he ranks first in the Big 12 in passing touchdowns (8), passing yards (723) and total offense per game (390.5). West Virginia will stay at home in Morgantown in week three to face FCS opponent Delaware State on Saturday at Milan Puskar Stadium.

Grier’s top competitors this week were Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield and Nate Stanley of Iowa. Mayfield completed 27-of-35 passes for 386 yards and three touchdowns, registering the 18th 300-yard game of his career, in an impressive 31-16 victory over No. 2 Ohio State on the road. Stanley completed 27-of-41 passes for 333 yards and five touchdowns, connecting on a 46-yard touchdown pass to knot the game at 38 with 1:09 to go in regulation, and then he tossed a 5-yard TD in overtime to lead the Hawkeyes to victory over archrival Iowa State, 44-41, on the road.

Facebook Voting

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

Manning Award

In its first 13 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) lead the way with four Manning Award wins each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-one players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2016 season.

  • < PREV Walker Wildcats Football 2017: Stats through to games
  • NEXT > LSU to host Georgia in 2018, Central Michigan in 2021