West Virginia’s Will Grier earns Manning Award Quarterback of the Week

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Will Grier, a senior from West Virginia University, has been selected as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week. He earns the win over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s social media contest. This is Grier’s fifth win, the first coming when he played for Florida in 2015, then twice last season at WVU, and he was the winner of this season’s week one honor.

Facebook Voting

Grier notched his seventh 300-yard game of the season as he completed 28-of-42 passes for 346 yards and three touchdowns, connecting on a 33-yard TD pass with 16 seconds to go and then rolling into the end zone on a two-point conversion run to lift the Mountaineers to a thrilling 42-41 Big 12 victory over No. 17 Texas.

The Charlotte native was named the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week for the third time on Monday and along with being named a Manning Award Star of the Week, he was named the Maxwell Award National Offensive Player of the Week.

The No. 9 Mountaineers welcome TCU to Morgantown on Saturday at 11 a.m. CT. The game will be televised on Fox Sports 1.

Grier’s top competitors were David Blough of Purdue and Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray. Blough tallied his fifth 300-yard game of the season as he directed the Boilermakers into position for a game-winning field goal with eight seconds to go in a 38-36 upset of No. 16 Iowa in Big Ten action. Murray, who posted his sixth 300-yard game of the year, also ran for a career-best 100 yards and a touchdown as he rallied the Sooners to a key Big 12 road victory, 51-46, over Texas Tech.

Manning Award

In its first 14 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) joins the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) with four Manning Award winners each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (McCoy and Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

  • < PREV Saints WR Cameron Meredith on injured reserve, out for year with knee injury
  • NEXT > Potential upset specials in opening round of Louisiana high school football playoffs