Video: Drew Brees on NFL’s postseason TD pass list

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Drew Brees is the NFL’s all-time leader in completions and passing yards in the regular season, and is on target to pass Peyton Manning as the all-time leader in touchdown passes in 2019.

But with fewer opportunities, Brees only ranks 10th all-time in passing touchdowns in the postseason with 29.

Every quarterback in the top 10 is either in the Pro Football Hall of Fame or not yet eligible.

With a deep and successful postseason run this year, Brees has a chance to pass Hall of Famers Terry Bradshaw, Kurt Warner and Dan Marino on the list and possibly move into the top five.

Tom Brady’s 71 career TD passes in the postseason is far and away the NFL record, 26 more than Joe Montana.

1. Tom Brady 2000-active NE 71
2. Joe Montana 1979-94 SF-KC 45
3. Brett Favre 1991-2010 GB-MIN 44
4. Peyton Manning 1998-2015 IND-DEN 40
5. Aaron Rodgers 2005-active GB 36
6. Dan Marino 1983-99 MIA 32
7. Kurt Warner 1998-2009 RAM-AZ 31
8. Terry Bradshaw 1970-83 PIT 30
(tie) Ben Roethlisberger 2004-active PIT 30
10. Drew Brees 2001-active SD-NO 29

As the NFC’s top seed, the Saints (13-3) play host to the Philadelphia Eagles at 3:40 p.m. Sunday in the Mercedes-Benz Superdome.

Research assistance provided by the database at the website Pro Football Reference.

  • < PREV Girls Basketball: Karr edges McDonogh 35
  • NEXT > LSU ranked No. 1 in preseason Perfect Game college baseball poll
Lenny Vangilder

Lenny Vangilder


Lenny was involved in college athletics starting in the early 1980s, when he began working Tulane University sporting events while still attending Archbishop Rummel High School. He continued that relationship as a student at Loyola University, where he graduated in 1987. For the next 11 years, Vangilder worked in the sports information offices at Southwestern Louisiana (now UL-Lafayette) and Tulane;…

Read more >