Video: Coastal Carolina’s Jamey Chadwell receives Eddie Robinson Award

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

NEW ORLEANS – Less than 24 hours before speaking at Sun Belt Conference media day to talk about his 2021 team, Coastal Carolina coach Jamey Chadwell had one more award to accept for 2020.

Chadwell received the Eddie Robinson Award sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl at a reception Wednesday evening at the Sheraton.

The Eddie Robinson Award is presented to the national coach of the year as selected by the Football Writers Association of America. Eddie Robinson IV, great-grandson of the legendary Grambling coach, was on hand to make the award presentation.

Chadwell’s team went undefeated in the regular season, including wins over Kansas, Louisiana, Appalachian State and BYU, and reached as high as No. 9 in the Associated Press Top 25.

The other finalists for the award were Tom Allen of Indiana, Brent Brennan of San Jose State, Matt Campbell of Iowa State, Karl Dorrell of Colorado, Luke Fickell of Cincinnati, Nick Saban of eventual national champion Alabama, Kalani Sitake of BYU and Dabo Swinney of Clemson.

LSU’s Ed Orgeron was the 2019 winner.

Chadwell and the other nine Sun Belt head coaches, along with selected players from each school, will meet the media on Thursday at the Sheraton.

  • < PREV Report: Texas, Oklahoma contact SEC about joining conference
  • NEXT > Football Preview: Newman on doorstep of greatness, state title glory

Lenny Vangilder


Lenny was involved in college athletics starting in the early 1980s, when he began working Tulane University sporting events while still attending Archbishop Rummel High School. He continued that relationship as a student at Loyola University, where he graduated in 1987. For the next 11 years, Vangilder worked in the sports information offices at Southwestern Louisiana (now UL-Lafayette) and Tulane;…

Read more >