UIW’s Joe Buenfeld named Southland Men’s Golfer of the Year

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Southland Conference

Southeastern earns a league-best four all-conference honorees

FRISCO, Texas – UIW’s Joe Buenfeld is the Southland Conference Men’s Golfer of the Year, the league announced Thursday in conjunction with the all-conference teams.

Southland Conference Champion Southeastern led the way with four selections, followed by league runner-up Francis Marion with three. Augusta, HBU and New Orleans earned a pair of nods on the list, and UIW and Nicholls rounded out the teams with one honoree each.

Fresh off an individual medalist performance at the 2022 Southland Conference Men’s Golf Championship, Buenfeld delivered his tournament-best 38th par on the final hole of the event to edge out a pair of competitors at even-par overall. The redshirt sophomore is set to compete in the Bryan Regional May 16-18 as an automatic individual qualifier.

Augusta’s Gareth Steyn posted an average round score of 73.73 across 30 rounds in his rookie season to garner the league’s Freshman of the Year award. He carded two rounds under par at the conference championship, including a 70 on the final day to challenge Buenfeld for the individual title. He would up in a tie for third with a score of 218 (+2).

A member of the league champions, Michael Landry takes home Newcomer of the Year honors after pacing the Lions in average round score (73.67) on the year and earning a win at the Colin Montgomerie Invitational. The Spring Hill College product tied for eighth at the conference championship at seven-over par.

Jake Narro earns the Coach of the Year title after leading Southeastern to its first Southland Conference title since 2013. The Lions tallied a pair of wins in the regular season and claimed the league’s automatic qualifier despite entering as the No. 3 seed. SLU is the No. 12 seed in the Bryan Regional, set to take place May 16-18 at the Traditions Club.

All-Conference teams and individual superlatives are voted on by each league school’s head coach and sports information director. Voting for oneself or one’s own athletes is not permitted.

2021-22 Southland Conference Men’s Golf All-Conference Teams
Golfer of the Year: Joe Buenfeld, UIW
Freshman of the Year: Gareth Steyn, Augusta
Newcomer of the Year: Michael Landry, Southeastern
Coach of the Year: Jake Narro, Southeastern

First Team
Name Class School Hometown
Joe Buenfeld^ R-So. UIW Southampton, England
Grant Sellers Sr. Francis Marion McBee, S.C.
Brady Bennett Sr. New Orleans Zachary, La.
Ryan O’Neil So. Nicholls Charlotte, N.C.
Logan Kuehn Sr. Southeastern Lake Charles, La.

Second Team
Name Class School Hometown
Gareth Steyn Fr. Augusta Perth, Australia
Casper Kennedy Jr. Francis Marion Tjome, Norway
Grayson Gilbert Jr. New Orleans Monroe, La.
Charlie Forster Fr. Southeastern Winchester, England
Michael Landry So. Southeastern LaPlace, La.

Third Team
Name Class School Hometown
Alex van Wyk Jr. Augusta George, South Africa
Mitchell Vance Jr. Francis Marion Hartsville, S.C.
Shaheen Momin Fr. HBU Sugar Land, Texas
Ben Caton Jr. HBU St. Andrews, Scotland
Cameron Mobley So. Southeastern Brandon, Miss.

^ – 2022 Southland Championship top finisher

  • < PREV Baseball Playoffs: Curtis, Rummel, DLS, STA, SCC, Newman Lutcher, Lakeshore in action today
  • NEXT > Preview: No. 14 LSU Fighting Tigers (30-14, 12-9 SEC) at Alabama Crimson Tide (25-20, 9-12 SEC)