Tulane’s Amare Jones named to the Paul Hornung Award Watch List

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Tulane EB Amare Jones
(Photo: Parker Waters)

Jones totaled 1,611 all-purpose yards as a sophomore

NEW ORLEANS – Tulane University junior running back Amare Jones added to his list of preseason accolades on Thursday, as he was named to the 2020 Paul Hornung Watch List presented by Texas Roadhouse.

Jones’ recognition also includes being named to the Doak Walker Award Watch List. He also was named to the American Athletic Conference preseason all-league teams by Athlon Sports and Phil Steele Publications.

The Frisco, Texas, native was selected to the watch list following an impressive sophomore campaign where he closed the year with 1,611 all-purpose yards, finishing with 371 yards rushing, 367 yards receiving, 141 punt return yards and 732 kickoff return yards.

Jones’ 1,611 all-purpose yards were the most by any American Athletic Conference sophomore, ranked 28th nationally and fifth in the league. His all-purpose yards total also served as the seventh-highest single-season total in program history.

The Paul Hornung Award, now in its 11th season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung. The winner and his family will be honored at the annual Paul Hornung Award dinner at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville on March 2021.

The 2020 Watch List is comprised of 50 players – 18 seniors, 22 juniors, nine sophomores and one grad transfer who play a total of eight different positions. These players represent 50 universities located in 28 states coast-to-coast that are part of the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision. All 10 FBS conferences and one independent school are represented on the Watch List; the SEC leads the conferences with eight players, followed by ACC with seven players and the Pac-12 and MWC with six players each.

The Paul Hornung Award has created an impressive legacy in 10 years. Six winners were first round NFL draft picks – Tavon Austin, Odell Beckham Jr., Shaq Thompson, Christian McCaffrey, Jabrill Peppers and Saquon Barkley.

Fans can purchase 2020 football season tickets in non-premium sections by visiting TulaneTix.com or by calling (504) 861-WAVE (9283).

Download the official mobile app of Tulane Athletics. Now, you can stay in touch with the Green Wave anytime and anywhere on your Android or iOS mobile device.

Follow Tulane football on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram at @GreenWaveFB. Fans also follow Tulane Athletics on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram.

  • < PREV Seven Cabrini student-athlete standouts sign to play college sports
  • NEXT > All-Star performances by Brown, Colaianni highlight Demon summer entrants