Touchdown Club of New Orleans to honor Tagliabue, Jenkins, Wattigny, Mouton, Morstead

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

NEW ORLEANS – Former NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue, longtime LSU assistant football coach Pete Jenkins, former state championship winning coach Don Wattigny and WWL-TV sports director Doug Mouton will be honored for their contributions to football next month by The Touchdown Club of New Orleans.

Additionally, the club will be presenting their Board of Directors Award to Saints punter Thomas Morstead.

The banquet will be held on March 9 at The Windsor Court Hotel, 300 Gravier Street in New Orleans. Local sports analyst Mike Detillier will serve as master of ceremonies.

Tagliabue will receive the 30th annual Pete Rozelle Award, given each year to the person who has made outstanding contributions to professional football and the National Football League. Tagliabue was the commissioner of the NFL from 1989-2006. Tagliabue was selected by the owners to succeed Pete Rozelle as commissioner.

Jenkins will receive the Collegiate Award Recipient. Jenkins, who began his coaching career in 1964, coached at LSU among his many stops. He coached in 15 bowl games.

Wattigny will receive the Prep Award. He spent 12 seasons as head coach of Edna Karr High School, where he compiled a record of 104-38, including a state championship in 1993.

Mouton will receive the Bob Roesler Media Award. He has been in sports journalism for 31 years.

Morstead was drafted by the New Orleans Saints in 2009, was a member of the Saints Super Bowl XLIV champions and a Pro Bowl selection in 2012. In 2014, Morstead and his wife, Lauren, started What You Give Will Grow as a way to help the New Orleans and Gulf South communities.

Tickets are available by calling The Touchdown Club at (504) 242-4545, by e-mail at by visiting

2019 Awards Banquet

Recognizing excellence in football

Mike Detillier

Master of Ceremonies

Awards will be Presented to:

Paul Tagliabue (Former NFL Commissioner) – Pete Rozelle Award

Pete Jenkins (Former Assistant Coach LSU) – Collegiate Award Recipient

Don Wattigny (Former Head Coach Karr High School) – Prep Award

Roesler Media Award will be presented to Doug Mouton (WWL-TV Sports Director)

Board of Directors Recipient – Thomas Morstead (Punter, New Orleans Saints)

The Windsor Court Hotel

300 Gravier St., 23rd Floor

New Orleans, LA

SATURDAY, March 9, 2019



Coat & Tie Required

Proceeds to benefit Ray Hester Leukemia Research Fund through Ochsner Clinic Foundation

Tickets are $160.00 per person


Table of 8 attendees – $1280.00

Register to attend here.


  • < PREV Bowling: Crescent City boys, Salmen girls win
  • NEXT > Top 50 New Orleans area football recruits for Class of 2020