Touchdown Club of New Orleans to honor Steve Gleason, John Robinson, Dale Weiner, Jennifer Hale at annual banquet

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

NEW ORLEANS – Steve Gleason, former New Orleans Saint and Congressional Gold Medal recipient, along with former USC Head Coach John Robinson, former Prep Coach Dale Weiner and Jennifer Hale, Fox Sports Reporter, will be honored for their contributions to football by The Touchdown Club of New Orleans.

This year the club will also recognize the late Pro Football Hall of Famer, Jim Taylor, a player on the first New Orleans Saints team.

The banquet will be held on March 14, 2020 at The Windsor Court Hotel, 300 Gravier Street in New Orleans.

Mike Detillier, Sports/Football Analyst, will serve as Master of Ceremonies.

Tickets are available by calling The Touchdown Club at (504) 242-4545, by e-mail at or by visiting our website,, and clicking the link on our home page.

The Club will present Steve Gleason with the 31st annual Pete Rozelle Award, given each year to the person who has made outstanding contributions to professional football and the National Football League. Steve has also been well documented with the battle against ALS.

The Collegiate Award recipient is Coach John Robinson. Robinson is a former Head Coach of the USC Trojans and has been senior consultant to LSU Tigers Head Coach Ed Orgeron. He has been coaching since 1976 and has coached in 8 bowl games. In 1978, the Trojans were crowned National Champions by the Coaches Poll.

The Prep Award goes to Coach Dale Weiner who spent 30 seasons as Head Coach of Catholic High School in Baton Rouge, LA, with 18 district titles and a state championship in 2015.

The Roesler Media Award will be presented to Jennifer Hale, Fox Sports. Jennifer has been in journalism for 20 years, and has spent the last 9 years with Fox Sports as an NFL sideline reporter and a courtside reporter for the NBA’s New Orleans Pelicans.

We will also be posthumously recognizing NFL Hall of Famer Jimmy Taylor at this year’s banquet.

The Touchdown Club was founded in 1967 initially to promote the best interests of
the New Orleans Saints. The Club has grown to promote the American game of football in New
Orleans and throughout Louisiana and the Gulf South. Its members are among the most avid
Saints supporters and fans of football at all levels.


Pete Rozelle Award Recipients
2019 Paul Tagliabue, former NFL Commissioner
2018 Archie Manning, Former New Orleans Saints Quarterback
2017 Bobby Beathard, General Manager, NFL League
2016 Joe Browne, Senior Advisor to NFL Commissioner
2015 Terry Bradshaw, Former Pittsburgh Steelers Quarterback and FOX NFL Analyst
2014 Joel Bussert, Sr. V.P. Player Personnel and Football Operations, NFL
2013 Bill Polian, Former Vice-Chairman, Indianapolis Colts and ESPN NFL Analyst
2012 Carl Peterson, Former President, GM, and CEO, Kansas City Chiefs
2011 Ron Wolf, Former General Manager, Green Bay Packers
2010 Pat Summerall, Former New York Giants Placekicker, CBS and Fox Sportscaster
2009 Ernie Accorsi, Former Sr. V.P. and General Manager, New York Giants
2008 Jim Steeg, Executive V.P. & COO, San Diego Chargers
2007 Tom Benson, Owner, New Orleans Saints
2005 Jerry Markbreit, NFL Referee
2004 Dick Vermeil, Head Coach, Kansas City Chiefs
2003 Steve Sabol, President, NFL Films
2002 Vince Lombardi, Former Coach, Green Bay Packers
2001 Bill Walsh, Former Coach, San Francisco 49er’s
2000 Don Weiss, Former Executive Director of the NFL
1999 Ralph Wilson, President, Buffalo Bills
1998 Tex Schramm, Former General Manager, Dallas Cowboys
1997 Marv Levy, Former Coach, Buffalo Bills
1996 Don Shula, Former Coach, Miami Dolphins
1995 Tom Landry, Former Coach, Dallas Cowboys
1994 Lamar Hunt, Owner, Kansas City Chiefs
1993 Jim Finks, General Manager, New Orleans Saints
1992 Art Modell, Owner, Baltimore Ravens
1991 Wellington Mara, President, New York Giants
1990 Dan Rooney, President, Pittsburgh Steelers
1989 Pete Rozelle, the former NFL Commissioner

College Award Recipients
2019 Pete Jenkins, Former Defensive Coordinator and Line Coach
2018 Burton Burns, Associate Head Coach & Running Back Coach, University of Alabama
2017 Tommy Bowden, Former College Head Coach
2016 Lee Corso, ESPN Game Day Analyst, Former College Head Coach
2015 Mark Hudspeth, Head Coach, Louisiana-Lafayette Ragin Cajuns
2014 Frank Beamer, Head Coach, Virginia Tech Hokies
2013 Brian Kelly, Head Coach, Notre Dame Fighting Irish
2012 Les Miles, Head Coach LSU Tigers
2011 Urban Meyer, Former Head Coach, Florida Gators
2010 Phillip Fulmer, Former Head Coach, Tennessee Volunteers
2009 Gene Stallings, Former Head Coach, Alabama Crimson Tide
2008 Vince Dooley, Former Head Coach & A.D., Georgia Bulldogs
2007 Bobby Bowden, Head Coach, Florida State Seminoles
2005 Tommy Tuberville, Head Coach, Auburn Tigers
2004 Nick Saban, Head Coach, LSU Tigers

Prep Award Recipients
2019 Don Wattigny, Former Head Coach Edna Karr High School Cougars
2018 Otis Washington, Former Head Coach St. Augustine High School Purple Knights
2017 Hank Tierney, Head Coach, Ponchatoula Green Wave
2016 Bill Stubbs, Head Coach, Riverside Academy Rebels
2015 Tim Detillier, Head Coach, Lutcher Bulldogs
2014 Lou Valdin, Former Head Coach, Hahnville Tigers
2013 Barry Wilson, Head Coach, Holy Cross Fighting Tigers
2012 Mickey Roussel, Head Coach, Riverside Academy Rebels
2011 Eddie N. Flint, Defensive Coach, McDonogh #35 Roneagles
2010 Jay Roth, Head Coach, Rummel Raiders
2009 Bob Becnel, Head Coach, Belle Chasse Cardinals
2008 Laury DuPont, Head Coach, West St. John Rams
2007 Wayne Reese, Sr., Head Coach, McDonogh #35 Roneagles
2005 Tony Reginelli, Former Head Coach, Newman Greenies
2004 J.T. Curtis, Head Coach, Curtis Patriots

Bob Roesler Media Award Recipients
2019 Doug Mouton, Sports Director, WWL-TV
2018 Bill Bumgarner, Former Sports-Writer, States-Item, The Times-Picayune and
2017 Larry Holder, Saints Columnist, /The Times-Picayune
2016 Juan Kincaid, Sports Director, Fox 8
2015 John DeShazier, and Pelicans’ Color Analyst
2014 Mike Triplett, Saints Sports-Writer ESPN News (
2013 Ken Trahan, President/GM, New
2012 Ron Brocato, Sports Editor, Clarion-Herald
2011 Jeff Duncan, Sports Columnist, The Times-Picayune
2010 Brian Allee-Walsh, Sports Columnist,
2009 Ed Daniels, Sports Director, ABC 26
2008 Jim Henderson, Sports Director, WWL-TV
2007 Peter Finney, Sports Columnist, The Times-Picayune
2005 Buddy Diliberto, Sportscaster
2004 Bob Roesler, Former Executive Sports Editor, The Times-Picayune

Note: No awards were presented in 2006 in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina

  • < PREV 28th Annual Saints Hall of Fame Celebrity Golf Classic set for May 18 at Bayou Oaks
  • NEXT > Hahnville advances with opening round win over West Ouachita in LHSAA girls playoffs