Sun Belt announces 2019 Softball Championship bracket

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Complete Bracket

NEW ORLEANS – The seeds and matchups for the 2019 Sun Belt Conference Softball Championship have been determined following the conclusion of the conference’s regular season on Saturday afternoon.

The championship begins on Wednesday, May 8 and concludes on Saturday, May 11 at Bobcat Softball Stadium in San Marcos, Texas. All 12 games are set for live coverage on ESPN+, available online and via the ESPN app. Live results are available on

Louisiana (47-4, 25-0 Sun Belt) was perfect in capturing its 17th No. 1 seed for the 20th edition of the Sun Belt Softball Championship. The Ragin’ Cajuns are just the second team in program and Sun Belt history to finish league play undefeated, joining the 2004 Louisiana squad that went 18-0.

Troy (37-28, 19-8) earned the No. 2 seed on the strength of winning a program-record 19 conference games. The Trojans won five-straight conference series this season for the first time in program history.

UTA (29-24, 17-10) grabbed the No. 3 seed with a come-from-behind win in its final regular-season game. During their nine-game conference winning streak in April, the Mavericks smashed seven home runs, including two multi-home run games.

Texas State (28-23, 16-10) secured the No. 4 seed, finishing in the top four of the conference standings for the fifth-straight year. The Bobcats won their first Sun Belt regular-season and tournament titles a season ago.

Appalachian State (31-22, 13-13) as the No. 5 seed, Coastal Carolina (35-19, 13-14) as the No. 6 seed, Georgia Southern (23-27, 9-17) as the No. 7 seed and ULM (11-40, 7-17) as the No. 8 seed round out the eight-team bracket.

The championship gets underway on Wednesday with two single-elimination games – No. 6 Coastal Carolina vs. No. 7 Georgia Southern at 10 a.m. CT and No. 5 Appalachian State vs. No. 8 ULM at 12:30 p.m. CT. The Coastal Carolina-Georgia Southern winner plays No. 3 UTA at 3 p.m. CT and the Appalachian State-ULM winner plays No. 4 Texas State at 5:30 p.m. CT.

As the host, Texas State had the option to select the time of its first tournament game and selected to play the 5:30 game on Wednesday.

The championship utilizes both a single-elimination format as well as a double-elimination format to determine the Sun Belt Tournament champion and recipient of the conference’s automatic bid to the NCAA Division I Softball Championship. The first two games of the tournament utilize a single-elimination format. Beginning with Game 3, the championship moves to a double-elimination format.

Follow #SunBeltSB on social media via TwitterFacebook and Instagram.

Wednesday, May 8
Game 1 – No. 7 Georgia Southern vs. No. 6 Coastal Carolina (ESPN+), 10 a.m.
Game 2 – No. 8 ULM vs. No. 5 Appalachian State (ESPN+), 12:30 p.m.
Game 3 – Game 1 Winner vs. No. 3 UTA (ESPN+), 3 p.m.
Game 4 – Game 2 Winner vs. No. 4 Texas State (ESPN+), 5:30 p.m.

Thursday, May 9                                                          
Game 5 – Game 3 Winner vs. No. 2 Troy (ESPN+), 10 a.m
Game 6 – Game 4 Winner vs. No. 1 Louisiana (ESPN+), 12:30 p.m.
Game 7 – Game 4 Loser vs. Game 5 Loser (ESPN+), 3 p.m.
Game 8 – Game 3 Loser vs. Game 6 Loser (ESPN+), 5:30 p.m.

Friday, May 10
Game 9 – Game 5 Winner vs. Game 6 Winner (ESPN+), 11 a.m.
Game 10 – Game 7 Winner vs. Game 8 Winner (ESPN+), 2 p.m.
Game 11 – Game 9 Loser vs. Game 10 Winner (ESPN+), 5 p.m.

Saturday, May 11
Game 12 – Championship Game (ESPN+), 1 p.m.

All Times are Central and Subject to Change

Championship Seeds and Conference Records
1. Louisiana (25-0)
2. Troy (19-8)
3. UTA (17-10)
4. Texas State (16-10)
5. Appalachian State (13-13)
6. Coastal Carolina (13-14)
7. Georgia Southern (9-17)
8. ULM (7-17)

  • < PREV Southeastern rally falls short in 13-9 slugfest against Lamar
  • NEXT > 45th Annual Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches Awards Banquet