St. Paul’s, Holy Cross, Vandebilt Catholic, Episcopal of Acadiana top latest boys soccer rankings

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

St. Paul’s, Holy Cross, Vandebilt Catholic and Episcopal of Acadiana remain the top-ranked teams in the latest Louisiana High School Soccer Coaches Association rankings.

The four-time defending state champion Wolves (7-0) are the unanimous choice for No. 1 in Division I. Catholic of Baton Rouge (5-0) is second with St. Amant (11-1) third. Dutchtown (5-1-1) is fourth and Lafayette (8-1-4) is fifth. Jesuit is sixth with Northshore seventh and Brother Martin eighth.

Unbeaten Holy Cross (5-0-1) remains on top in the Division II rankings in unanimous fashion. Unbeaten Woodlawn of Baton Rouge (5-0) is second with Beau Chene (6-2-2) third. East Jefferson (6-3) is fourth with Riverdale (5-0) fifth. Lakeshore is seventh with Ben Franklin eighth.

E.D. White Catholic (4-4-2) once again edged Vandebilt Catholic (3-4-1) for the top spot in Division III. The Cardinals received six first place votes while the Terriers received four. University Lab (2-1-3) is third with Loyola Prep (5-5-5) fourth and St. Louis Catholic (1-2-2) fifth.

Unbeaten Episcopal of Acadiana (9-0) continues to hold in the top position in Division IV with nine first place votes with unbeaten Northlake Christian (5-0-2) second with one first place vote. Newman (5-2) is third with Episcopal (5-2-4) fourth and St. Thomas Aquinas (3-2-1) fifth. Country Day is seventh with Christ Episcopal ninth.

Here are your LHSSCA rankings for the week of Dec. 11-17:

Division I

St. Paul’s (7-0)
Catholic-BR (5-0)
St. Amant (11-1)
Dutchtown (5-1-1)
Lafayette (8-1-4)
Jesuit (3-2-2)
Northshore (5-1-3)
Brother Martin (3-2-2)
Acadiana (2-1-2)
Denham Springs (4-3-1)

Others receiving votes: East Ascension, Mandeville, Alexandria, Byrd, Grace King, Captain Shreve, Sulphur, Pineville, New Iberia, McKinley, Covington

Division II

Holy Cross (5-0-1)
Woodlawn-BR (5-0)
Beau Chene (6-2-2)
East Jefferson (6-3)
Riverdale (5-0)
Caddo Magnet (5-3-2)
Lakeshore (0-2-2)
Ben Franklin (1-4)
Terrebonne (5-0-5)
Benton (6-5-4)

Others receiving votes: Central Lafourche, Ruston, St. Thomas More, Neville, Live Oak, South Terrebonne, Westgate, Destrehan, Carver, Haughton, Central, Belaire

Division III

E.D. White Catholic (4-4-2)
Vandebilt Catholic (3-4-1)
University Lab (2-1-3)
Loyola Prep (5-5-5)
St. Louis Catholic (1-2-2)
Holy Savior Menard (2-6-2) (tie)
Parkview Baptist (4-2-2) (tie)
Bolton (2-3-2) (tie)
North Vermilion (7-2-1) (tie)
DeRidder (9-2) (tie)

Others receiving votes: St. Michael, Leesville, Haynes, St. Martinville, Lusher, Lutcher, Morgan City, North DeSoto

Division IV

Episcopal of Acadiana (9-0)
Northlake Christian (5-0-2)
Newman (5-2)
Episcopal (5-2-4)
St. Thomas Aquinas (3-2-1)
Catholic-NI (6-2-5)
Country Day (2-2)
St. Frederick (2-2)
Christ Episcopal (4-1-4)
Dunham (2-4-2)

Others receiving votes: Glenmora, Pope John Paul II, Westminster Christian, Evangel Christian, Ascension Christian, St. Martin’s Episcopal, Houma Christian, Calvary Baptist, Lafayette Christian, Ascension Episcopal, North Caddo, Runnels, Rapides, Sterlington

Area Prep Soccer Results from Monday, Dec. 11


New Orleans Area

Archbishop Hannan 7, Runnels 3

East St. John 3, Covenant Christian 2

International 1, McMain 0

Grace King 1, John Ehret 0

Newman 8, Thomas Jefferson 0

Salmen 9, Pine 1

West Jefferson 7, Higgins 4

Baton Rouge Area

Baton Rouge 2, Belaire 0

Brighton 2, The Church Academy 0

Bayou Area

Vandebilt Catholic 6, North Vermilion 0

Area Prep Soccer Schedule for Tuesday, Dec. 12


New Orleans Area

Archbishop Shaw at Archbishop Rummel, 3:30 p.m.

Central Lafourche at Destrehan, 7 p.m.

East Jefferson at Belle Chasse, 6:30 p.m.

Franklinton at Pearl River, 7 p.m.

Hahnville at Slidell, 5:30 p.m.

Hammond at St. Thomas Aquinas, 6 p.m.

Landry-Walker at Helen Cox, 6 p.m.

Riverdale at McMain, 6 p.m.

Baton Rouge Area

Ascension Christian at Live Oak, 6:30 p.m.

Belaire at East Ascension, 6 p.m.

H.L. Bourgeois at Lutcher, 6 p.m.

Catholic (BR) at University, 6 p.m.

Catholic (PC) at West Feliciana, 6 p.m.

Dutchtown at New Iberia, 6 p.m.

St. Amant at Woodlawn (BR), 6 p.m.

Walker at Mandeville, 7 p.m.

Bayou Area

Haynes at E.D. White Catholic, 5 p.m.


New Orleans Area

Central Lafourche at Destrehan, 5 p.m.

De La Salle at Christ Episcopal, 5 p.m.

Dutchtown at Archbishop Hannan, 5 p.m.

East Jefferson at Belle Chasse, 4:30 p.m.

Ecole Classique at Karr, 4 p.m.

Franklinton at Covington, 5:30 p.m.

Hahnville at Ascension Episcopal, 5:30 p.m.

Haynes at St. Charles Catholic, 7 p.m.

Landry-Walker at Helen Cox, 4 p.m.

McGehee at Patrick Taylor, 3:30 p.m.

Mount Carmel at Bonnabel, 5 p.m.

Northlake Christian at Academy of Sacred Heart (NO), 5 p.m.

Riverdale at Academy of Our Lady, 4:30 p.m.

St. Martin’s Episcopal at Lusher, 6 p.m.

St. Scholastica at Northshore, 5:30 p.m.

Baton Rouge Area

Acadiana at Denham Springs, 7 p.m.

Delta Charter at Zachary, 6 p.m.

Lee at Catholic (PC), 6 p.m.

Bayou Area

Ellender at Terrebonne, 5 p.m.

  • < PREV LHSCA’s I-20 Bowl to be broadcast live on 97.7 FM
  • NEXT > Slade Bolden of West Monroe named Gatorade Louisiana Football Player of the Year

Ken Trahan


Born and raised in the New Orleans area, CCSE CEO Ken Trahan has been a sports media fixture in the community for nearly four decades. Ken started with Bill Hammack and Don Jones in 2008. In 2011, the site became On August 1, 2017, Ken helped launch Having accumulated national awards/recognition (National Sports Media Association, National Football…

Read more >