St. Martin’s boys, girls sweep Class 1A state cross country championships

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Results: Monday’s LHSAA Cross Country Championships

Eight state cross country state champions were crowned Monday at Northwestern State in the 2017 Allstate Sugar Bowl/LHSAA Cross Country Meet in Natchitoches.

In 1A, St. Martin’s Episcopal captured both the boys and girls titles. It is the third straight state title for the Saints on the boys side for Coach Warren Lind. Cedar Creek was second on the boys side. The Saints placed four runners in the top 10 to claim the title, led by Benjamin Bone, who finished second. Others included Samuel Kellum, Rico Coleman and Bryce Monier.

Covenant Christian was second in the girls competition with McGehee third. St. Martin’s had four top 10 finishers, led by freshman Isabella Bartholomew, who finished second. Others included Chloe and Alexandra Bartholomew and Anabella Imbornone.

In 2A, Episcopal won the boys championship, continuing its dominance with a 22nd consecutive state title with St. Thomas Aquinas second. On the girls side, Holy Savior Menard captured the state title with St. Thomas Aquinas finishing second.

In Class B, Episcopal of Acadiana swept the boys and girls titles, winning for a fourth straight time on the boys side and a third straight time on the girls side. Runnels was second in both the boys and girls competition.

In Class C, Georgetown won the boys championship with Jehovah-Jireh finishing second. On the girls side, Chris Episcopal was crowed state champion.

The 3A, 4A and 5A champions will be crowned Tuesday for both the boys and girls

  • < PREV Soccer Report: St. Paul’s opens at home against Jesuit, Hahnville girls win opener
  • NEXT > Basketball: Warren Easton, Rummel win season openers

Ken Trahan


Born and raised in the New Orleans area, CCSE CEO Ken Trahan has been a sports media fixture in the community for nearly four decades. Ken started with Bill Hammack and Don Jones in 2008. In 2011, the site became On August 1, 2017, Ken helped launch Having accumulated national awards/recognition (National Sports Media Association, National Football…

Read more >