Softball Playoff Roundup: Riverside, Vandebilt Catholic advance to finals

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

The Riverside Academy softball team continues its dream season.

The second-seeded Rebels parlayed a five-run fourth inning into a 7-4 win Friday over No. 3 St. Frederick in the LHSAA Select Division III semifinals at Frasch Park.

The Warriors scored a run in the top of the first before Riverside scored two in the bottom of the frame to take the early lead.

Riverside exploded for five runs in the fourth to take a solid 7-1 lead before St. Fredrick rallied with two runs in the fifth and a run in the sixth but fell short.

Camryn Loving homered for Riverside while Anna Claire Mistretta had two doubles and an RBI. Corrin Cashio had a hit and two RBI, Alainah Felton had two hits, including a double and an RBI and Ava Fernandez drove in a run.

Kylie Bordelon went six innings to pick up the win, allowing four runs (three earned) on five hits. Bordelon walked three and struck out five.

Kyndall Taylor homered, doubled and drove in two runs for St. Frederick while Hannah Gammage also homered. Piper Yarbrough added an RBI double. Abagail Creighton took the loss, allowing seven runs (six earned) on eight hits. Creighton walked three and struck out six.

Riverside (20-9) advances to the championship game Saturday at noon on Field 14 against No. 1 seed Catholic-Pointe Coupee, who defeated No. 5 Opelousas Catholic 4-3.

The news was not as good for defending state champion John Curtis Christian.

No. 2 seed Tioga rallied late to edge the No. 3 Patriots 6-5 in the Select Division I semifinals.

Each team scored a run in the first inning with Katie Kempton doubling in a run before the Patriots took a 5-1 lead, scoring a run in the fourth on an RBI single by Jasmine Roach before scoring three runs in the fifth on an RBI groundout, an error and an RBI single by Jacke Melancon.

The Indians stormed back for the win with a big finish.

Abbigail Troquille had an RBI double, Kaitlyn Roberts had an RBI single in the sixth inning to cut the deficit to 5-4.

Bailie Middleton scored the tying run in the seventh inning on an error before freshman Mayghan Brown drove home the game-winner with a two-out, RBI single.

The Patriots (26-9) were hurt by four errors.

Tioga (23-3) will play top seed St. Thomas More in the championship game Saturday at 3 p.m.

The Cougars built a solid lead and held off a charge by No. 5 Archbishop Chapelle to win 5-4.

St. Thomas More (32-3) jumped out to a 5-0 lead as Kennedy Stutes doubled home a run in the bottom of the first to make it 1-0.

Shyanne Irvin homered in the second and it was 2-0. The lead grew to 5-0 with three runs in the fourth.

The Chipmunks (27-6) battled back.

Chapelle scored four runs in the top of the fifth on a two-run single by Kayla Giardina, a bases loaded walk to Kelsie Schmidt and an RBI single by Mia Impastato.

In the seventh inning, Allie Domangue singled, moved to second on a sacrifice bunt and advanced to third on a groundout but she was stranded.

Giardina took the loss while Ava Prejean got the win for the Cougars.

In Select Division II, No. 2 Vandebilt Catholic edged No. 6 Academy of Our Lady 6-5 in a thriller.

The Terriers rallied with two runs in the bottom of the seventh to win it.

Freshman Lauren Baudoin delivered a one-out, walk-off, bases loaded RBI single in the bottom of the seventh to provide the winning margin.

The Penguins scored single runs in each of the first three innings to build a 3-1 lead before Vandebilt Catholic rallied with three runs in the bottom of the sixth to make it 4-3.

AOL (19-14) responded with two runs in the top of the seventh to take a 5-4 lead as Jaci Carmadelle drove in a run with a bases loaded walk before a wild pitch scored a second run, setting the stage for the winning rally by Vandebilt Catholic.

Vandebilt (29-7) advances to the title game Saturday at noon against top seed Buckeye, which defeated No. 4 David Thibodaux 5-1.

LHSAA Softball Results from Friday, April 28
Non-Select Division I
#1 St. Amant 13, No. 4 West Monroe 1 (5 innings)
#3 Sam Houston 6, #2 Live Oak 3

Non-Select Division II
#1 North DeSoto 11, #5 Brusly 0 (5 innings)
#2 Albany 8, #3 Beau Chene 7

Non-Select Division III
#1 Sterlington 4, #5 Jena 2
#2 Kaplan 8, #3 Doyle 0

Non-Select Division IV
#4 French Settlement 14, #8 Vinton 0 (3 innings)
#2 Montgomery 7, #6 Oak Grove 5

Non-Select Division V
#4 Converse 3, #9 Choudrant 1
#2 Quitman 4, #3 Florien 0

Select Division I
#1 St. Thomas More 5, #5 Archbishop Chapelle 4
#2 Tioga 6, #3 John Curtis Christian 5

Select Division II
#1 Buckeye 5, #4 David Thibodaux 1
#2 Vandebilt Catholic 6, #6 Academy of Our Lady 5

Select Division III
#1 Calvary Baptist 11, No. 4 Houma Christian 0 (5 innings)
#6 D’Arbonne Woods 12, No. 2 Notre Dame 8

Select Division IV
#1 Catholic (PC) 4, #5 Opelousas Catholic 3
#2 Riverside Academy 7, #3 St. Frederick 4

Select Division V
#1 Claiborne Christian 13, #4 Family Community 3
#3 St. Joseph’s-Plaucheville 10, #2 Grace Christian 3

LHSAA Softball Schedule for Saturday, April 29
Non-Select Division I
#1 St. Amant vs. #3 Sam Houston, 3 p.m. Field 15

Non-Select Division II
#1 North DeSoto vs. #2 Albany, 3 p.m. Field 14

Non-Select Division III
#1 Sterlington vs. #2 Kaplan, noon Field 16

Non-Select Division IV
#2 Montgomery vs. #4 French Settlement, noon Field 13

Non-Select Division V
#2 Quitman vs. #4 Converse, 3 p.m. Field 16

Select Division I
#1 St. Thomas More vs. #2 Tioga, 3 p.m. Field 15

Select Division II
#1 Buckeye vs. #2 Vandebilt Catholic, Noon, Field 15

Select Division III
#1 Calvary Baptist vs. #6 D’Arbonne Woods, 3 p.m. Field 17

Select Division IV
#1 Catholic (PC) vs. #2 Riverside Academy, Noon Field 14

Select Division V
#1 Claiborne Christian vs. #3 St. Joseph’s-Plaucheville, Noon Field 17

  • < PREV Louisiana Christian sweeps thrilling doubleheader from SAGU
  • NEXT > Pelicans take series opener from BRCC; Saturday doubleheader moved up

Ken Trahan


Born and raised in the New Orleans area, CCSE CEO Ken Trahan has been a sports media fixture in the community for nearly four decades. Ken started with Bill Hammack and Don Jones in 2008. In 2011, the site became On August 1, 2017, Ken helped launch Having accumulated national awards/recognition (National Sports Media Association, National Football…

Read more >