Smith, Peabody lead the way on Class 4A All-State basketball teams

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

By Warren Arceneaux
Written for the LSWA

Legendary Peabody basketball coach Charles Smith had a season for the ages. He became Louisiana’s all-time leader in boys basketball wins, was named a head coach in the McDonalds All-American game and led the Warhorses to an LHSAA championship for the eighth time.

Smith leads the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s 2020 Class 4A All-State team as its boys Coach of the Year. After becoming the state’s all-time winningest coach with a victory over McMain in the quarterfinals, Smith’s Peabody squad defeated Woodlawn-Shreveport and Breaux Bridge at the LHSAA tournament to earn the 4A title.

Smith has 1,074 career wins, with the playoff run pushing him past the late Joel Hawkins, who retired with 1,071 career wins compiled at Lake Providence and Southern Lab.

Another 1,000-win coach was the other finalist. Danny Broussard of St. Thomas More earned his 1,000th win this season and led the Cougars to the Division II title. Broussard has a career record of 1,021-331 to rank fourth on the state’s all-time list, just behind the late Leslie Gaudet of Pine Prairie, who had 1,026 wins.

La’Keem Holmes of LaGrange was selected as the girls Coach of the year after leading the Gators to a 32-4 mark and the first LHSAA girls basketball title in program history.

Senior guard Melvion Flanagan led Peabody on the court, averaging 21.8 points per game. Flanagan earned the Outstanding Player award for the boys squad. Another senior guard, Diamond Hunter of Lee, was picked as the girls Outstanding Player. She averaged 24 points per game while leading the Patriots to a second straight Division II title.

Joining Flanagan on the boys first team are Kenny Hunter of Huntington, Deandre Hypolite of Breaux Bridge, Carter Domingue of St. Thomas More and Michael Pajeaud of Carver.

On the second team are Delatrion Moton of Woodlawn-Shreveport, Jaden Shelvin of St. Thomas More, Marcus Jones of Peabody, Jaden Tyler of Assumptoin and Dionjahe Thomas of Ellender.

Joining Hunter on the girls first team are Jeriah Warren of LaGrange, Taylor Bell of Huntington, Ra’von Robertson of Assumption and Breanna Sutton of Warren Easton.

Second team selections are Dakayla Howard of Neville, Iviona Hatch of Lee, Aasia Sam of LaGrange, Jamia Singleton of Ellender and Tia Shelling of Karr.

First team
Name Player Ht Cl Avg
Kenny Hunter Huntington 6-10 Sr. 16.0
Melvion Flanagan Peabody 6-0 Sr. 21.8
Deandre Hypolite Breaux Bridge 6-3 Sr. 15.4
Carter Domingue St. Thomas More 6-3 Jr. 13.5
Michael Pajeaud Carver 6-2 Sr. 15.2

Second team
Name Player Ht Cl Avg
Delatrion Moton Woodlawn-Shreve 6-4 Jr. 17.1
Jaden Shelvin St. Thomas More 6-2 Jr. 14.1
Marcus Jones Peabody 6-3 Sr. 15.6
Jaden Tyler Assumption 6-1 Jr. 19.7
Dionjahe Thomas Ellender 6-8 So. 21.0


Honorable mention
Herman Key, B.T. Washington-Shreveport; Donovan Seamster, Woodlawn-Shreveport; Carlos Pagan, Leesville; Leon Smith, Rayne; Bailey Despanie, Carencro; Demarea Dubea, Northside; Avontez Ledet, Cecilia; Jon’Quarius McGhee, Opelousas; Ron Cox Jr. South Terrebonne; Christian Pichot, McMain; Devon Lizana, Salmen; Jacob Wilson, Lee; Keydrain Calligan, Westgate; Brandon Carter, Assumption; Jaylon Blackmon, Assumption; Jacoby Brown, Assumption; Nylan Francis, Morgan City; Preston Bourda, Ellender; Nykee Johnson, Ellender; Eric Thibodaux, South Lafourche; Isaac Callais, South Lafourche; Markell Marshall, South Terrebonne; Darrell Washington, LaGrange; Jamaar Moore, Washington-Marion; De’vondrake Arvie, Beau Chene; Patrick McCraney, Neville; Jazz Provo, Plaquemine; Jayden Lazard, Opelousas; Kaijalon Smith, Peabody; Dorian Finnister, Carver; Solomon Washington, Carver.

First team
Name Player Ht Cl Avg
Diamond Hunter Lee 5-8 Sr. 24.0
Jeriah Warren LaGrange 6-0 Jr. 16.7
Taylor Bell Huntington 6-0 Jr. 15.2
Ra’von Robertson Assumption 5-10 Sr. 19.2
Breanna Sutton Warren Easton 5-7 Jr. 18.0

Second team
Name Player Ht Cl Avg
Dakayla Howard Neville 5-6 Jr. 16.0
Iviona Hatch Lee 5-5 Sr. 12.5
Aasia Sam LaGrange 5-9 Jr. 14.7
Jamia Singleton Ellender 5-6 Fr. 19.0
Tia Shelling Edna Karr x-x So. 18.0


Honorable mention
Jajuana Briggs, Neville; Ced’dreeca Chapman, Bolton; Dymon Drumgo, Bolton; Claire Hader, St. Thomas More; Brianna Green, Cecilia; Dashira Davis, Opelousas; Bradlee Chavis, Opelousas; Tanisha Hester, Ellender; Makayla Bynum, South Lafourche; Ava Pitre, South Lafourche; Deja Tanks, LaGrange; Izany Hewitt, Northwood; JaNeicia Kendrick, Woodlawn; Jasi Jenkins, Ellender; Amy Parrott, Vandebilt Catholic; Leia Verret, Vandebilt Catholic; Elaina Rivere, Assumption; Madison Ryan, South Lafourche, Jenna Karrar, Neville, Sr.; Aniya Lagarde, Lee; Chasity Taylor, Huntington; Lynn Griffin, Carencro; Skylar Davis, Warren Easton.

  • < PREV Payton, Saints adjusting to unprecedented times as NFL draft looms
  • NEXT > Saints By Position: Top 5 linebackers in franchise history