SLU’s Jordan adds to preseason All-American accolades

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Ferlando Jordan

HAMMOND, La. – Southeastern Louisiana University defensive back Ferlando Jordan added to his preseason trophy case, earning a spot on the 2022 HERO Sports FCS Preseason All-America Teams released Thursday.

Jordan was named to the second team. The Atlanta native was previously selected one of 35 preseason picks for the Buck Buchanan Award – presented to the best defensive player in FCS – watch list. Jordan and fellow cornerback Zy Alexander were both named to the Stats Perform FCS preseason All-America squad last month.

Jordan is the Southland Conference career leader with five interceptions returned for a touchdown, is one of 12 multi-time All-Americans (2019, 2020) in program history and is fourth in school history with 11 career receptions.

Jordan is one of three SLC student-athletes on the HERO Sports preseason All-America lists. UIW wide receiver Taylor Grimes and linebacker Kelechi Anyalebechi represented the league on the first and third teams, respectively.

Southeastern will practice Monday through Saturday at 9 a.m. until the first day of fall classes, set for Aug. 17. Starting with the beginning of the fall semester, SLU will practice Monday through Thursday at 3:45 p.m. and Friday and Saturday at 9 a.m. until the week of the Sept. 3 season opener at UL Lafayette.

Southeastern opens the 2022 season at the Ragin’ Cajuns in a 6 p.m. contest. The home opener is set for Sept. 17 versus Central Connecticut State.

2022 HERO Sports FCS Preseason All-America Teams

First Team Offense
QB Jason Shelley, Missouri State
RB Isaiah Ifanse, Montana State
RB Isaiah Davis, South Dakota State
FB Hunter Luepke, North Dakota State
WR Xavier Gipson, Stephen F. Austin
WR Jaxon Janke, South Dakota State
WR Taylor Grimes, UIW
TE Tucker Kraft, South Dakota State
TE Noah Gindorff, North Dakota State
OL Cody Mauch, North Dakota State
OL McClendon Curtis, Chattanooga
OL Mason McCormick, South Dakota State
OL Matthan Hatchie, UT Martin
OL Garrett Greenfield, South Dakota State
AP Xavier Shepherd, Kennesaw State

First Team Defense
DL Isaiah Land, Florida A&M
DL Devonnsha Maxwell, Chattanooga
DL Josiah Silver, New Hampshire
DL Titus Leo, Wagner
DL VJ Malo, Portland State
LB Patrick O’Connell, Montana
LB Adam Bock, South Dakota State
LB Ryan Greenhagen, Fordham
LB Jacob Dobbs, Holy Cross
LB Stone Snyder, VMI
DB Justin Ford, Montana
DB Anthony Adams, Portland State
DB Michael Tutsie, North Dakota State
DB Robby Hauck, Montana
DB Montrae Braswell, Missouri State

First Team Special Teams
K Matthew Cook, Northern Iowa
P Grant Burkett, Missouri State
LS Robert Soderholm, VMI
RS Isaiah Bolden, Jackson State

Second Team Offense
QB Tim DeMorat, Fordham
RB Jaleel McLaughlin, Youngstown State
RB Malik Grant, Sacred Heart
FB Alex Ramsey, The Citadel
WR Tyrone Scott, Missouri State
WR Jakob Herres, Richmond
WR Abdul-Fatai Ibrahim, Alabama A&M
TE McCallan Castles, UC Davis
TE Kemari Averett, Bethune-Cookman
OL Michael Corbi, Villanova
OL Jaylin Hendrix, Central Arkansas
OL Mark Evans II, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
OL Kyle Nunez, Stony Brook
OL Alex Jensen, South Dakota
AP Jake Chisholm, Dayton

Second Team Defense
DL BJ Thompson, Stephen F. Austin
DL Nate Lynn, William & Mary
DL Brevin Allen, Campbell
DL Jason Dumas, Southern
DL Eyabi Anoma, UT Martin
LB Aubrey Miller, Jackson State
LB David Hoage, Northern Colorado
LB Tristan Wheeler, Richmond
LB Matthew Jackson, Eastern Kentucky
LB Spencer Cuvelier, Northern Iowa
DB Ferlando Jordan, Southeastern
DB Benny Sapp III, Northern Iowa
DB Eddie Heckard, Weber State
DB Kedrick Whitehead, Delaware
DB Ty Okada, Montana State

Second Team Special Teams
K Nathan Robertson, Kennesaw State
P Max Quick, Stephen F. Austin
LS Dalton Godfrey, South Dakota
RS Malik Flowers, Montana

Third Team Offense
QB Shedeur Sanders, Jackson State
RB Darius Hale, Central Arkansas
RB Geno Hess, SEMO
FB Coy Williams, Davidson
WR Andrei Iosivas, Princeton
WR Jadakis Bonds, Hampton
WR Avante Cox, Southern Illinois
TE Zach Heins, South Dakota State
TE Ryan Miller, Furman
OL Nick Correia, Rhode Island
OL Noah Atagi, Weber State
OL Nash Jensen, North Dakota State
OL Colby Sorsdal, William & Mary
OL Tavon Matthews, East Tennessee State
AP Dylan Laube, New Hampshire

Third Team Defense
DL Jordan Lewis, Southern
DL Malik Hamm, Lafayette
DL Caleb Sanders, South Dakota State
DL Eli Mostaert, North Dakota State
DL Alex Gubner, Montana
LB Ty Boeck, Chattanooga
LB Callahan O’Reilly, Montana State
LB Brock Mogensen, South Dakota
LB Bryce Flater, Northern Iowa
LB Kelechi Anyalabechi, UIW
DB Marte Mapu, Sacramento State
DB Kyriq McDonald, Missouri State
DB Jordan Jones, Rhode Island
DB BJ Bohler, Florida A&M
DB Esaias Guthrie, Delaware State

Third Team Special Teams
K Jerry Rice, VMI
P Ryan Kost, Monmouth
LS Steele Judy, The Citadel
RS Jah’Marae Sheread, Florida A&M

Southeastern Football Preseason Practice Schedule
Aug. 12 – 9 a.m.
Aug. 13 – 9 a.m.
Aug. 15 – 9 a.m.
Aug. 16 – 9 a.m.
Aug. 17 – 3:45 p.m. (First day of classes)
Aug. 18 – 3:45 p.m.
Aug. 19 – 9 a.m.
Aug. 20 – 9 a.m.
Aug. 22 – 3:45 p.m.
Aug. 23 – 3:45 p.m.
Aug. 24 – 3:45 p.m.
Aug. 25 – 3:45 p.m.
Aug. 26 – 9 a.m.
Aug. 27 – 9 a.m.

For ticket information, contact the Southeastern Athletics Ticket Office at (985) 549-5466 or visit Southeastern will continue offering mobile ticketing as the primary source for securing tickets for the 2022-23 season. All tickets will be available via e-mail or text message in a PDF format for fans to download on their phone or print at home. Tickets can also be downloaded to Apple Wallet.

For more information on Southeastern Football, follow @LionUpFootball and @Coach_Scelfo on Twitter, like /SLUathletics on Facebook and subscribe to the SLUathletics YouTube channel.

  • < PREV Sightseeing and three-pointers highlight Louisiana Tech's second day in Puerto Rico
  • NEXT > Northwestern State voted to top spot in Southland women's soccer preseason poll