SLU’s Forster named SLC Player of the Year as conference men’s golf honors announced

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Charlie Forster

HAMMOND, La. – After posting the league’s lowest stroke average, Southeastern Louisiana University sophomore Charlie Forster was named the Southland Conference Player of the Year in an announcement from the league office Thursday.

Forster, a native of Winchester, England, is the sixth Southeastern player to be named Southland Conference Player of the Year, joining former Lions Grant White (1998), Jacques Chevalier (2000), Cedric Scotto (2009), Alvaro Arizabaleta (2010) and Philipp Westermann (2012).

Coming off a runner-up finish at last week’s Southland Conference Championships, Forster had six top-10 finishes to his credit during the 2022-23 season.

Forster finished the season with a conference-low 71.48 stroke average and carded 13 rounds under the par. The Southland Conference Golfer of the Month for September 2022 won individual medalist honors at the Derek Dolenc Invitational and posted a season-low round of 64 to open the Colin Montgomerie Invitational in March.

First-year head coach Lawrence Allan, a two-time All-Southland performer in his own right during his playing days with SLU, was pleased to see his top player receive the well-deserved honor.

“Charlie is very deserving of being named the Southland Conference Player of the Year,” Allan commented. “He was a fantastic player for us all season. He had one win on the year and could have easily won a couple of other tournaments. Charlie earned this recognition and we’re proud of this honor.”

Forster was joined on the All-SLC first team by SLC Tournament individual medalist and Freshman of the Year Stefan Jacobs of Augusta, as well as Augusta’s Behn Heyns, Braxton Kuntz of Nicholls and Lamar’s Carl Hardin.

The second team was comprised of Francis Marion’s Grant Sellers, Joe Buenfeld of UIW, Lamar’s Hugo Hellman, Ryan Fulton of New Orleans and Nicholls’ Ryan O’Neil.

UIW’s Angel Guerra was tabbed the conference’s Newcomer of the Year, while Augusta’s Steven Paine was named SLC Coach of the Year after leading his team to the conference tournament championship last week.

The All-Southland Conference golf teams were selected by the league’s head coaches and sports information directors. Coaches and SID’s were not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes.

2022-23 All-Southland Conference Teams and Individual Superlatives

Player of the Year: Charlie Forster, Southeastern

Freshman of the Year: Stefan Jacobs, Augusta

Newcomer of the Year: Angel Guerra, UIW

Coach of the Year: Steven Paine, Augusta

First Team

Name | School | Yr. | Hometown

Charlie Forster | Southeastern | So. | Winchester, England

Stefan Jacobs | Augusta | Fr. | Johannesburg, South Africa

Behn Heyns | Augusta | Fr. | Pretoria, South Africa

Braxton Kuntz | Nicholls | So. | Winnipeg, Canada

Carl Hardin | Lamar | Jr. | Loddekopinge, Sweden

Second Team

Name | School | Yr. | Hometown

Grant Sellers | Francis Marion | Sr. | McBee, S.C.

Joe Buenfeld | UIW | So. | Southampton, England

Hugo Hellman | Lamar | Gr. | Salem, Sweden

Ryan Fulton | New Orleans | Jr. | Crowley, La.

Ryan O’Neil | Nicholls | Sr. | Charlotte, N.C.

  • < PREV Preview: No. 1 LSU visits Auburn for weekend series
  • NEXT > NFL offseason workout program dates announced