Shaw, De La Salle with nine top seeds combined for DIII state wrestling championships

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

LHSAA Wrestling

After finishing second in Division II in 2022, Archbishop Shaw has dropped down in class and is ready to challenge for a Division III state title in 2023.

The Eagles top the Division III top seeds for the LHSAA state wrestling championships this weekend at Brookshire Grocery Arena in Bossier City.

Shaw has five top seeds, including Caden Judice (106), Hayden Tassin (126), Jason Brown (160) and Raymond Howard (285). The Eagles have 11 seeded wrestlers among the 14 classes. Shaw had two second seeds as well.

De La Salle will contend for the title as well. The Cavaliers have four top seeds, including defending state champions in junior Dylan Duvernay (113) and senior Shane Barbarin (120), along with Luke Robertson (170) and Jason Krail (182). De La Salle has eight seeded wrestlers, including one second seed.

Defending state champion Basile has a top seed and defending state champion in senior Luc Johnson (145) and has nine seeded wrestlers.

Archbishop Hannan has a top seed in senior and defending state champion Preston Gautier (152) while John Curtis Christian has a top seed in AJ Smith (195).

Other top seeds are Joseph Gilreath of Evangel Christian (132), Cameron Gauthreaux of DeQuincy (138) and James Baldwin of Dunham (220).

Here are your Division III seeded wrestlers:

1. Caden Judice- Archbishop Shaw
2. Parrish Chambers- Evangel Christian Academy
3. Patrick Fontenot- Basile
4. Avery Benton- John Curtis
5. Zach Preece- Rosepine

1. Dylan Duvernay- De La Salle
2. Blake Andre- Archbishop Shaw
3. Kye Smith- Basile
4. Lawton Royer- DeQuincy
5. William Harrel- Evangel Christian Academy

1. Shane Barbarin, De La Salle
2. Jeremia Yearby- Evangel Christian Academy
3. Luke Caballero- St Louis Catholic
4. Pierson Comeaux- Basile
5. Kobe Nguyen- Archbishop Shaw
6. William Simpson- St Michael the Archangel
7. Colin Dalton- Archbishop Hannan
8. Craig Miller- South Beauregard

1. Hayden Tassin- Archbishop Shaw
2. Michael Brame II- Evangel Christian Academy
3. Jay Guillory- Basile
4. Evan Harding- Archbishop Hannan
5. Grant Habetz- St Louis Catholic
6. Coy Terro- Kaplan
7. Dylan Brown- De La Salle
8. Kairan Smith- John Curtis

1. Joseph Gilreath- Evangel Christian Academy
2. Aydan Green- South Beauregard
3. Antonio Barraza- St Michael the Archangel
4. Giovani Malta- Archbishop Shaw
5. Rowan Garrity- Thomas Jefferson
6. Jacob Rogers- Vinton
7. Landon Thibodeaux- Basile

1. Camden Geautreaux- DeQuincy
2. Destin Pitre- Thomas Jefferson
3. Malachi Benetrix- De La Salle
4. Seth Lowe- Archbishop Hannan
5. Kadin Manuel- Church Point
6. Jace Carpenter- St Mary’s
7. Ethan Mandigo- Evangel
8. Trey Brown- John Curtis

1. Luc Johnson- Basile
2. Liam O’Conner- De La Salle
3. Preston ‘Trey’ Curtis- John Curtis
4. Nolan McMichael- St Louis Catholic
5. Tristan Wagner- Archbishop Hannan
6. Lane Turnley- Kaplan
7. Ian Barnes- Rosepine
8. Cade Brookes- Evangel Christian Academy

1. Preston Gautier- Archbishop Hannan
2. Frankie Massicot- John Curtis
3. Jamir Wilson- Evangel Christian Academy
4. Parker Fontentot- Basile
5. Noah Williamson- St Louis

1. Jason Brown- Archbishop Shaw
2. Luke Fontenot- Basile
3. Michael Gilreath- Evangel
4. Aiden Mulholland- Archbishop Hannan

1. Luke Robertson, De La Salle
2. Aden Laborde- John Curtis
3. Logan Watson- St Mary’s
4. Jordan Rogers- Vinton
5. Aidan McCartney- Live Oak
6. Mason Wilson- Archbishop Shaw
7. Blake Butler- South Beauregard
8. Jeffrey Donnes- Thomas Jefferson

1. Jason Krail- De La Salle
2. Christian Bergeron- Basile
3. Graham Montet- St Louis
4. James Nero- Archbishop Shaw
5. Clayton Stebbins- South Beauregard
6. Lane Lecron- John Curtis

1. AJ Smith- John Curtis
2. Bryce Hanley- Archbishop Shaw
3. Will York- Episcopal
4. Ethan Goss- St Louis Catholic
5. Damari Drake- Evangel Christian Academy

1. James Baldwin- Dunham
2. Henry Milligan- St Louis Catholic
3. Wade Rist- Archbishop Hannan
4. Zachary Drake- John Curtis
5. Austin Young- De La Salle
6. Henry Travis- Haynes Academy
7. Da Shawn Randell- Basile
8. Matthew Burnside- Archbishop Shaw

1. Raymond Howard- Archbishop Shaw
2. Ryan Fobbs- Erath
3. Christian Speight- Evangel Christian
4. Joel Marchand- Archbishop Hannan
5. Ethan Vigneaux- Kaplan
6. Nicholas Dalferes- John Curtis
7. Scott Berzas- Basile
8. Ben So- Hanyes Academy

  • < PREV Finn for the win: Homer lifts Xavier past Tougaloo
  • NEXT > Teurlings Catholic heavy favorite with 8 top seeds, Rummel top local team in DII Wrestling Championships

Ken Trahan


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Born and raised in the New Orleans area, CCSE CEO Ken Trahan has been a sports media fixture in the community for nearly four decades. Ken started with Bill Hammack and Don Jones in 2008. In 2011, the site became On August 1, 2017, Ken helped launch Having accumulated national awards/recognition (National Sports Media Association, National Football…

Read more >