Shaw, Belle Chasse, Carver, Cabrini win district track and field titles

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

In the District 11-4A girls competition Cabrini won its 17th district championship in school history and their seventh district title in a row. Carver was second.

The Crescents had seven event winners, including Elena McGovern in the javelin, Madison Brown-Adams in both the long jump and triple jump, Bailee Villavaso in the pole vault, Avia Wright won the 1,600-meter run and the 3,200-meter run and Olivia Javery won the 1-Turn Stager.

In the relays, McDonogh 35 won the 4×800, Ben Franklin took the 4×100 and the 4×200 as well as the 3-Turn Stager.

For Carver, Amyra Washington of Carver won the shot put and the discus throws, Tarajah Horn was first in the 400-meter dash and Nikhi Pierre won the 300-meter hurdles.

For McDonogh 35, Kali Gathers took first in the high jump while Talia Brown won the 100-meter hurdles.

For Ben Franklin, Jaelyn Mitchell won the 100-meter dash and the 200-meter dash.

In the District 11-4A boys competition, Carver edged Warren Easton for the championship.

In the relays, Carver won the 4×100, the 4×200 and the 4×800 and the 3-Turn Stager.

For Warren Easton, Jalen Chapman won the shot put, Keddrick Connelly won the javelin, Kuan Jackson took first in the pole vault, Germain Smith-Mata won the 100-meter dash in a time of 10;81 and made it a double by winning the 200-meter dash in a time of 21.75.

For Carver, Shamar LaMay took first in the discus, Kyrin Gray won the long jump and the triple-jump, Darren West was first in the 1-Turn Stager, Sa’von Jefferson won the 400-meter dash while Tahj Stores won both the 110-meter hurdles and the 300-meter hurdles.

For Ben Franklin, Harry Schreiner won the high jump, Alastair Deng won the 1,600-meter run and the 3,200 meter run.

District 10-4A Boys Team scores:
1) Archbishop Shaw 185
2) Helen Cox 152
3) Belle Chasse 114
4) New Orleans Military & Maritime 70
5) Landry 16
6) Higgins 15

District 10-4A Girls Team scores:
1) Belle Chasse 225
2) Helen Cox 109
3) Academy of Our Lady 57
4) New Orleans Military & Maritime 50
5) Higgins 49
6) Landry 20

District 11-4A Boys Team scores:
1) Carver 211
2) Warren Easton 202
3) Ben Franklin 74
4) Douglass & McDonogh 35 20

District 11-4A Girls Team scores:
1) Cabrini 169
2) Carver 136
3) Ben Franklin 97
4) McDonogh 35 85
5) Warren Easton 84
6) Douglass 4

  • < PREV Farris, Barber join women's basketball staff at Southern Miss
  • NEXT > Coaches All-District 7-2A Baseball Team

Ken Trahan


Born and raised in the New Orleans area, CCSE CEO Ken Trahan has been a sports media fixture in the community for nearly four decades. Ken started with Bill Hammack and Don Jones in 2008. In 2011, the site became On August 1, 2017, Ken helped launch Having accumulated national awards/recognition (National Sports Media Association, National Football…

Read more >