Saints tackle Ryan Ramcyzk nominated for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Ryan Ramcyzk

32 Players Nominated For 2022 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award
Winner to be revealed as part of NFL Honors before Super Bowl LVII

The 32 player nominees for the ninth annual ART ROONEY SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD have been finalized, the NFL announced today. Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the award, which recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

Created in 2014, the award honors the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer ART ROONEY SR.

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community – WARRICK DUNN, 2014 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award recipient LARRY FITZGERALD, Pro Football Hall of Famer CURTIS MARTIN and LEONARD WHEELER – will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees. The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote in December.

“These Rooney Sportsmanship Award nominees exemplify the fiercest competition combined with the excellence of sportsmanship, said Troy Vincent, EVP of Football Operations of the NFL. “It reflects the very values of respect, resilience, and fairness that inspire both teammates and opponents to be the best in the world.”

The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.


Team Player   Team Player
Arizona Cardinals Budda Baker   Las Vegas Raiders Maxx Crosby
Atlanta Falcons Grady Jarrett   Los Angeles Chargers Austin Ekeler
Baltimore Ravens Calais Campbell   Los Angeles Rams Cooper Kupp
Buffalo Bills Von Miller   Miami Dolphins Alec Ingold
Carolina Panthers Johnny Hekker   Minnesota Vikings Dalvin Cook
Chicago Bears DeAndre Houston-Carson   New England Patriots David Andrews
Cincinnati Bengals B.J. Hill   New Orleans Saints Ryan Ramczyk
Cleveland Browns Nick Chubb   New York Giants Daniel Jones
Dallas Cowboys Dak Prescott   New York Jets Duane Brown
Denver Broncos Pat Surtain II   Philadelphia Eagles Lane Johnson
Detroit Lions Kalif Raymond   Pittsburgh Steelers Alex Highsmith
Green Bay Packers Aaron Jones   San Francisco 49ers Kyle Juszczyk
Houston Texans Jerry Hughes   Seattle Seahawks Will Dissly
Indianapolis Colts DeForest Buckner   Tampa Bay Buccaneers Lavonte David
Jacksonville Jaguars Christian Kirk   Tennessee Titans Derrick Henry
Kansas City Chiefs Nick Bolton   Washington Commanders Terry McLaurin

The winner of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players. From the eight finalists, each team’s players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

The winner will be announced as part of NFL Honors. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice.


Year Player Team
2021 WR Matthew Slater New England
2020 QB Teddy Bridgewater Carolina
2019 RB Adrian Peterson Washington
2018 QB Drew Brees New Orleans
2017 LB Luke Kuechly Carolina
2016 RB Frank Gore Indianapolis
2015 CB Charles Woodson Oakland Raiders
2014 WR Larry Fitzgerald Arizona

  • < PREV Many's Tackett Curtis named finalist for high school Butkus Award
  • NEXT > The Starting 11 -- NFL celebrates Madden's incomparable legacy