Rummel inducts newest class into Athletic Hall of Fame

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Billy Schaefer, Adam Klein, Ryan Gernard, Jay Roth

METAIRIE – Record-setting football coach Jay Roth headlined the induction class of 2023 into Archbishop Rummel’s Athletic Hall of Fame Thursday night.

Roth, whose 228 career wins are the most in Catholic League history, also quarterbacked the Raiders to their first undefeated regular season in 1980. The 1981 graduate would go on to coach seven teams to undefeated regular seasons and led four teams to state championship games, including back-to-back state titles in 2012 and 2013. He will also be inducted into the Louisiana High School Hall of Fame next spring.

Also in the class of 2023 are Billy Schaefer, a 1976 graduate and two-time team MVP in basketball who was the school’s third all-time leading scorer; Adam Klein, a 2007 graduate who won three individual state titles in swimming and went on to claim 10 All-America designations at Auburn, and Ryan Gernard, a three-time all-metro honoree in baseball who won a state championship as a senior in 1997.

Crescent City Sports’ Ken Trahan, a 1975 graduate and also a member of the hall of fame, served as master of ceremonies.

In addition to Thursday’s ceremony, the hall of famers will be honored at Saturday night’s Homecoming game against St. Augustine. The game will air live on NASH ICON 106.1 FM.


  • < PREV Sage Ryan looks to make a difference in stretch run for LSU secondary
  • NEXT > SLU welcomes Lamar for Homecoming

Lenny Vangilder


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Lenny was involved in college athletics starting in the early 1980s, when he began working Tulane University sporting events while still attending Archbishop Rummel High School. He continued that relationship as a student at Loyola University, where he graduated in 1987. For the next 11 years, Vangilder worked in the sports information offices at Southwestern Louisiana (now UL-Lafayette) and Tulane;…

Read more >