Rickey Jackson, Steve Worthy, Fore!Kids Foundation team wins Saints Hall of Fame Golf Classic

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Steve Worthy, Rickey Jackson
(Photo: Parker Waters)

NEW ORLEANS – A warm but good day greeted 162 golfers participating the 26th Annual Saints Hall of Fame Celebrity Golf Classic Monday, taking place at the new Bayou Oaks course at City Park for the first time.

It was a pair of champions who often finish first in the minds and hearts of others through their significant accomplishments who emerged victories in the end.

Pro Football Hall of Fame, New Orleans Saints Ring of Honor and Saints Hall of Fame inductee Rickey Jackson captained the winning team sponsored by the Fore!Kids Foundation.

Tournament Director and Fore!Kids Foundation CEO Steve Worthy, who does a superb job of running the Zurich Classic annually, was joined by Jackson, Bart Dornier, Phillip Garrett and Todd McPherson as they won by three strokes, posting a winning score of 22-under-par in the scramble format event.


The team anchored by recently retired former Saints tackle Zach Strief was second with a score of 19-under par. The team consisted of Tristan Manthey of the law firm of Heller, Draper, Patrick, Horn and Manthy, Kevin Mmahat of Mid South Coatings, Martin Buras and Jordan Eagan.

New Orleans Saints Executive Vice President and General Manager Mickey Loomis led the third-place team sponsored by Chateau Café which also included Desi Vega of steakhouse fame, along with Robbie Hazard and Sal Gambino. They posted a score of 18-under-par.

The team anchored by Saints Hall of Fame inductee Stan Brock tied for third. Brock was joined by Gerald Adams, James Hunter, Mark Baker and Chris Wilson.

Darrah Schaefer of United HealthCare won the Closest to the Hole competition on the seventh hole with a drive coming within seven feet, 11 inches of the hole.

New Orleans Pelicans head coach Alvin Gentry was among the other participants while other Saints Hall of Fame inductees who played included Hoby Brenner, Jim Dombrowski, Dalton Hilliard, Tyrone Hughes, Joe Johnson, Michael Lewis and Jim Wilks.


Other former Saints players on hand included Chuck Commiskey, Tyrone Legette, Whitney Paul and Reggie Jones and Fred McAfee.

The tournament included a taste of New Orleans, featuring 24 restaurants and caterers from throughout the New Orleans area.

Current New Orleans Saints on hand included Alvin Kamara, Demario Davis, Trey Hendrickson, Michael Hoomanawanui, Zach Line, Wil Lutz, Thomas Morstead, David Onyemata, Craig Robertson, Jonathan Williams and Zach Wood.

Proceeds from the event benefit the non-profit Saints Hall of Fame Museum, located at Gate B on the Plaza level of the Mercedes-Benz Superdome.

  • < PREV Sun Belt Conference announces end-of-season baseball honors
  • NEXT > Kansas football on shaky ground with administration change
Ken Trahan

Ken Trahan


Born and raised in the New Orleans area, CCSE Owner and CEO Ken Trahan has been a sports media fixture in the community for nearly four decades. Ken started NewOrleans.com/Sports with Bill Hammack and Don Jones in 2008. In 2011, the site became SportsNOLA.com. On August 1, 2017, Ken helped launch CrescentCitySports.com. Having accumulated national awards/recognition (National Football Foundation, College…

Read more >