Ragin’ Cajuns forward Jordan Brown earns third Sun Belt Conference Men’s Basketball Player of the Week honor

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Jordan Brown

NEW ORLEANS – Louisiana’s Jordan Brown averaged 21.0 points per game and 13.5 rebounds per game in directing the Ragin’ Cajuns to a pair of key victories last week. For the third time this season, he is the Sun Belt Conference Men’s Basketball Player of the Week.

Brown led the Sun Belt in rebounding last week with 13.5 boards per game, adding 21.0 points per game. Brown shot 61 percent (17-of-28) from the field during the week. He led the Ragin’ Cajuns to wins against Texas State and Marshall. Those victories kept Louisiana in a tie atop the Sun Belt standings with a 10-2 league mark.

Brown opened the week with a 16-point, seven-rebound performance in an 82-63 win against Texas State which gave Louisiana a sweep of the regular-season series with the Bobcats for the first time since 2017-18.

Brown capped off the week by helping Louisiana extend its Sun Belt winning streak to 10 games. He scored 26 points and grabbed a career-high 20 rebounds in a 77-67 victory against Marshall. The 20-20 game was the first of Brown’s career and the sixth in Louisiana history. The 20-20 contest was the first by a Ragin’ Cajun since Shawn Long had a 29-point, 20-rebound performance at Troy in 2016.

2022-23 Sun Belt Men’s Basketball Players of the Week
Week 1 – Mason Harrell, Texas State
Week 2 – Taevion Kinsey, Marshall
Week 3 – Isaiah Moore, South Alabama
Week 4 – Jordan Brown, Louisiana
Week 5 – Taevion Kinsey, Marshall
Week 6 – Jordan Brown, Louisiana
Week 7 – Tyreek Scott-Grayson, Old Dominion
Week 8 – Austin Crowley, Southern Miss
Week 9 – DeAndre Pinckney, Southern Miss
Week 10 – Taevion Kinsey, Marshall
Week 11 – Josh Uduje, Coastal Carolina
Week 12 – Mekhi Long, Old Dominion
Week 13 – Jordan Brown, Louisiana

Follow #SunBeltMBB on social media via Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

About the Sun Belt Conference

The Sun Belt Conference is made up of 14 members: App State, Arkansas State, Coastal Carolina, Georgia Southern, Georgia State, James Madison, Louisiana, ULM, Marshall, Old Dominion, South Alabama, Southern Miss, Texas State and Troy.

  • < PREV Louisiana High School Officials Association elects Ruthie Dugal as next presisdent
  • NEXT > 2023 LSU baseball schedule for TV, online broadcasts released