Ohio State, LSU, Alabama, Penn State top four teams in first College Football Playoff rankings

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
LSU football and Ed Orgeron
Ed Orgeron and his LSU Tigers enter their showdown with Alabama as the No. 2 team in the College Football Playoff rankings (Photo: Jonathan Mailhes)

The Selection Committee for the College Football Playoff (CFP) released its first rankings of the year on Tuesday evening. The group’s Top 25 was officially announced on a live ESPN broadcast. The committee will continue to update the rankings each Tuesday through December 3; the final rankings will be announced on Sunday, December 8 on ESPN.

College Football Playoff Rankings, 11/5/19
1. Ohio State (8-0)
2. LSU (8-0)
3. Alabama (8-0)
4. Penn State (8-0)
5. Clemson (9-0)
6. Georgia (7-1)
7. Oregon (8-1)
8. Utah (8-1)
9. Oklahoma (7-1)
10. Florida (7-2)
11. Auburn (7-2)
12. Baylor (8-0)
13. Wisconsin (6-2)
14. Michigan (7-2)
15. Notre Dame (6-2)
16. Kansas State (6-2)
17. Minnesota (8-0)
18. Iowa (6-2)
19. Wake Forest (7-1)
20. Cincinnati (7-1)
21. Memphis (8-1)
22. Boise State (7-1)
23. Oklahoma State (6-3)
24. Navy (7-1)
25. SMU (8-1)

Click here to download the transcript from Tuesday evening’s teleconference with College Football Playoff Selection Committee chair Rob Mullens.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl (Wednesday, January 1, 2019) will host the champions of the Big 12 Conference and the SEC unless either or both of those champions are selected for the College Football Playoff. If either of the champions do qualify for the playoff, a replacement team from the conference(s) will play in the Allstate Sugar Bowl. In the case of the SEC, the replacement team would be the top-ranked non-playoff team. In the case of the Big 12, the replacement team would be the next non-playoff team with the best record in the regular-season standings.

The top four teams in the final CFP Rankings will meet in the College Football Playoff Semifinals (Fiesta Bowl and Peach Bowl for this season) on Saturday, December 28. The two semifinal winners will play for the College Football Playoff National Championship on January 13 in New Orleans. The Sugar Bowl spearheaded the effort for New Orleans to host this year’s national championship game with support from the Greater New Orleans Sports Foundation; SMG, the management company of the Mercedes-Benz Superdome; the New Orleans Saints; the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center; the New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau; and the New Orleans Tourism and Marketing Corporation; as well as multiple government agencies on the state and local level.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl will host the Big 12 and the SEC five times in the next seven years. The other two seasons (2020 and 2023), the Allstate Sugar Bowl will serve as a College Football Playoff Semifinal.

  • < PREV Are we there yet? LSU seeks to end losing streak vs. Bama
  • NEXT > 2019 Byrd Football Game Notes - Game 10 vs. Southwood Cowboys