Notre Dame’s Ian Book named Manning Award Quarterback of the Week

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Ian Book

NEW ORLEANS (December 10, 2020) – Ian Book, a graduate student at Notre Dame University, has been selected as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week. He earns the honor over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Facebook contest.

Facebook Voting Results

Book completed 24-of-37 passes for 285 yards and three touchdowns as he led the Fighting Irish to a 45-21 ACC victory over Syracuse to become the winningest quarterback in school history with 30 wins. He also rushed for 53 yards and two scores.

The victory completed a perfect record for Book as a starting quarterback in Notre Dame Stadium going 15-0 as a starter at home, tying the most wins at home by a Notre Dame starting passer. The El Dorado Hills, Calif., native has completed 181 passes for 2,382 yards and 15 touchdowns, with just two interceptions, in 2020, and he has rushed for 465 yards and eight touchdowns on the season.

The Fighting Irish will face Clemson in the ACC Championship game on Saturday, Dec. 19th at 3 p.m. CT at Bank of America stadium in Charlotte, N.C. The game will be televised by ABC.

The second and third-place finishers in this week’s Facebook voting were Brock Purdy of Iowa State and Florida’s Kyle Trask. Purdy became the winningest quarterback in school history as he notched his 22nd win and helped the Cyclones claim their first conference title since 1912 with a 42-6 Big 12 victory over West Virginia. He finished with a rushing touchdown and 20-of-23 completions for 247 yards and three touchdowns. Trask tallied his third 400-yard passing game and his seventh four-TD game of the season as he tied the school record for touchdown passes in a season with 38. Trask’s 35-of-49 completions for 433 yards and four touchdowns led the Gators as they clinched the SEC East title with a win over Tennessee on the road, 31-19.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, inclusion on the Watch List is not necessary for the quarterbacks to be selected for the honor. Finalists are scheduled to be announced in mid-December and the winner will be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 16 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) and the Southeastern Conference (Joe Burrow, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) lead the way with five Manning Award honorees each, while and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. LSU (Burrow and Russell) joins Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) and Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

  • < PREV Saints announce Demario Davis as their 2020 Walter Payton Man of the Year
  • NEXT > Two state football quarterfinal games set for tonight