North Vermilion’s John Touchet, North DeSoto’s Laney Johnson take top LSWA honors for Class 4A baseball and softball

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Written for the LSWA
It was a special season for the North Vermilion baseball program and the North DeSoto softball program. Both won LHSAA Class 4A titles and now both have swept the top honors on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 4A All-State teams.

North Vermilion’s John Touchet and North Desoto’s Laney Johnson took home Outstanding Player honors, while North Vermilion’s Jeremy Trahan and North DeSoto’s Tim Whitman claimed Coach of the Year honors for the LSWA teams selected by a panel of sportswriters from across the state.

Touchet, a junior, led the Patriots to their first baseball state championship since 1994 and was voted title-game MVP after pitching 6.2 innings against No. 1-seeded Tioga. Touchet finished 11-0 with a 1.00 ERA and 62 strikeouts while also hitting .333 with 6 doubles, 6 home runs and 39 RBIs.

Johnson, a freshman, led a young Griffins to their 4A state title. NDHS rallied in the title game against Beau Chene. Johnson had a 24-3 record with a 1.91 ERA and 206 strikeouts in 167 innings pitched, along with a .371 batting average, 10 home runs and 44 RBIs.

Trahan coached the Patriots to a 33-7 record and was able to hold off No. 1-seeded Tioga by taking a 5-3 victory in the state championship game after they had pulled off an 11-10 semifinals victory over South Terrebonne in extra innings.

Whitman coached the Lady Griffins to a 33-5 record and is familiar with winning state championships, having brought six state titles to three different schools, and this one was his first at North DeSoto in his second year at the school.

Joining Touchet on the baseball team were Neville’s Wes Robinson (7-1), Tioga’s Blake McGehee (9-0) and Vandebilt’s Owen Schexnaydre (11-1) at pitcher, North DeSoto’s Robert Ashley (.492) at catcher, Tioga’s Terence Grines (.375), Rayne’s Ethan Theriot (.479), South Terrebonne’s Cameron Trosclair (.425) and South Lafourche’s Myles Mathere (.313) at infield, Neville’s Zeb Ruddell (.429), Breaux Bridge’s Dorien Jackson (.434) and Vandebilt’s Hunter Porche (.425) at outfield and North Vermilion’s Tyson LeBlanc (.484), St. Thomas More’s Landon Morrow (6-2), Tioga’s Haydan Toal (9-3), North DeSoto’s Brett Remedies (6-1) and South Lafourche’s Derin Doucet (.394) at utility.

Johnson is joined by Beau Chene’s Mallory Pitre (21-2), Tioga’s Kairah Williams (16-3) and Vandebilt’s Kaylan Dehart (10-2) at pitcher, Beau Chene’s Gracie Bellard (.487) at catcher, Neville’s Ellie Lofton (.431), North DeSoto’s Mia Norwood (.493), St. Thomas More’s Madison Prejean (.475) and Belle Chasse’s Gracee Hess (.412) as infielders, Neville’s KK Worsham (.404), North DeSoto’s Whitley Martin (.452) and North Vermilion’s Kennedy Semien (.467) as outfielders and Tioga’s Khynzi Jackson (.432), Neville’s Elle Carter (.484), St. Thomas More’s Hannah Parker (.463), Lakeshore’s Alara Taylor (.404) and Assumption’s Taylor Theriot (.384) at utility to round out the softball team.



Pos Player Cl stats

P Kairah Williams Tioga Jr. 16-3

P Laney Johnson North DeSoto Fr. 24-3

P Mallory Pitre Beau Chene Sr. 21-2

P Kalyn Dehart Vandebilt Catholic Jr. 10-2

C Gracie Bellard Beau Chene Sr. .487

IF Ellie Loftin Neville Jr. .431

IF Mia Norwood North DeSoto Fr. .493

IF Gracee Hess Belle Chasse Sr. .412

IF Madison Prejean St. Thomas More Sr. .475

OF Kaitlynn Worsham Neville So. .404

OF Whitley Martin North DeSoto Sr. .452

OF Kennedy Semien North Vermilion Sr. .467

UT Elle Carter Neville So. .484

UT Khynzi Jackson Tioga Jr. .432

UT Hannah Parker St. Thomas More Sr. .463

UT Alara Taylor Lakeshore Sr. .509

UT Taylor Theriot Assumption Sr. .384



Honorable mention: Leila Heller, Belle Chasse; Hannah Ward, Northwood, Jr.; Reagan Thompson, Evangel, Sr.; Kayla Taylor, Huntington, So.; Hailey Anderson, St. Michael; Hayle Tullier, Plaquemine; Meredith Conzelmann, St. Thomas More; Miia Bailey, St. Thomas More; Vyctorhea Romero, Teurlings; Kaitlyn Dickey, Beau Chene; Cloe Bonvillain, Beau Chene; Raegan Alleman, Assumption; Lille Mazur, Vandebilt Catholic; Madelyn Bourgeois, South Lafourche; Shelbie Mabile, Assumption; Haylie Crappell, Morgan City; Sarah Alleman, Assumption; Bailey Melancon, South Lafourche; Mea Landry, Lusher; Raegan Alleman, Assumption; Addie Bagwell, Neville; Kaylee Green, Tioga; Ca’terra Bates, Academy of Our Lady; Madison Gray, Morgan City; Olivia Rhodes, South Terrebonne; Aly Delafield, North DeSoto; Aaronyana Wilson, Evangel; Lillie Mazur, Vandebilt Catholic; Cameron Curtis, North DeSoto; Caroline Mathis, Belle Chasse; Gracie Toledano, Academy of Our Lady.


Pos Player Cl stats

P Wes Robinson Neville Sr. 7-1

P Blake McGehee Tioga Sr. 9-0

P John Touchet North Vermilion Jr. 11-0

P Owen Schexnaydre Vandebilt Catholic Jr. 11-1

C Robert Ashley North DeSoto So. .492

IF Terence Grines, Tioga Sr. .375

IF Ethan Theriot Rayne Sr. .479

IF Cameron Trosclair South Terrebonne Sr. .425

IF Myles Matherne South Lafourche Jr. .313

OF Zeb Ruddell Neville Jr. .429

OF Dorien Jackson Breaux Bridge Jr. .434

OF Hunter Porche Vandebilt Catholic Sr. .425

UT Tyson LeBlanc North Vermilion So. .484

UT Landon Morrow St. Thomas More Sr. 6-2

UT Hayden Toal Tioga Jr. 9-3

UT Brett Remedies North DeSoto Sr. 6-1

UT Derin Doucet South Lafourche Jr. .394



Honorable mention: Lane Patin, North Vermilion; Camden Breaux, North Vermilion; Will Arceneaux, Rayne; Zach Suire, Eunice; Ben Tate, Teurlings; Ashton Broussard, DeRidder; Eli David, Vandebilt Catholic; Brady Bowen, South Terrebonne; Michael Rodrigue, Vandebilt Catholic; Shae Thibodeaux, Assumption; Hunter Condley, South Lafourche; Jonah Callais, South Lafourche; Wes Allemand, South Lafourche; Sage Rivere, Assumption; Morgan Sauber, Lakeshore; Charles Green, Edna Karr; Luke Bloxom, Northwood; Deuce Comeaux, Rayne; Logan Lafoon, Tioga; Evan Frank, Vandebilt Catholic; Peyton Fulghum, Evangel; Garrett Burns, Evangel; Brendan Burns, Northwood; David Roper, Tioga; Josh Stevenson, St. Thomas More; Eli Lirette, Lakeshore; Christian Dorner, Belle Chasse; Jonah Calais, South Lafourche; Alex Roberts, North DeSoto; Austin King, Minden; Tucker McCabe, Northwood; Jack Groh, Lusher; Codi Williams, St. Michael; Drake Brigalia, Plaquemine; Cobe Beamon, Liberty.

  • < PREV Demario Davis, Jen Hale to speak at Jefferson Parish Prayer Breakfast
  • NEXT > TCU coach, former Tulane assistant Schlossnagle headed to Texas A&M