Nicholls welcomes 20 football additions on national signing day

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

THIBODAUX, La. – Nicholls State University head football coach Tim Rebowe added 16 signees to the four from the December signing period to give the defending champion Colonels their largest recruiting class since 2016.

Rebowe’s first two classes each had 26, and it resulted in a loaded 2018 senior class with 27. Rebowe replenished his squad with 13 players on the defensive side, and seven on offense. He also continued to emphasize keeping local talent in the state with 17 of the 20 coming from Louisiana. The three other signees hail from Mississippi.

On defense, the Colonels added seven lineman – Dillion Davis (Ascension Catholic), Perry Ganci (Jesuit), Caleb Jackson (Zachary), Omar Pew (Horn Lake), Elijah Reames (Catholic-BR), Chris Thomas (Evangel Christian), and Chris Welch (Southern Lab). Nicholls featured one of the best fronts last season, ranking seventh in the FCS in tackles for loss and 12th in sacks.

Five of the defensive players are listed in the secondary – Shawn Hall (Assumption), Jordan Jackson (Dutchtown), Jarius Monroe (East St. John), Kevin Moore (Acadiana/Texas Tech), and Derrick Munson (Rummel/Arkansas). Moore and Munson join the Colonels are playing at the FBS levels. Rounding out the defenders is linebacker Ja’Mel Cooley (Carver).

For the offense, Rebowe signed three on the line – Caleb Etienne (Warren Easton), Leonard Hickman (Many), and Matthew Williams (Horn Lake). Nicholls had the No. 12 rushing offense in the country en route to its second consecutive playoff appearance but graduated four starters up front.

The playmakers include K.J. Franklin (St. Amant), wide receiver Brooks Rayburn (Hancock), quarterback Andrew Robison (Hahnville) and tight end Levon Williams (John Curtis).


Name Pos. Ht. Wt. Hometown (High School/Previous)
Ja’mel Cooley LB 6-0 215 New Orleans, La. (Carver)
Dillion Davis DL 6-2 270 Donaldsonville, La. (Ascension Catholic)
Caleb Etienne OL 6-6 300 New Orleans, La. (Warren Easton)
KJ Franklin ATH 5-9 175 Prairieville, La. (St. Amant)
Perry Ganci DL 6-1 250 Metairie, La. (Jesuit)
Shawn Hall DB 5-11 185 Donaldsonville, La. (Assumption)
Leonard Hickman OL 6-3 305 Many, La. (Many)
Caleb Jackson DL 6-1 255 Zachary, La. (Zachary)
Jordan Jackson DB 5-10 175 Prairieville, La. (Dutchtown)
Jarius Monroe DB 6-1 190 LaPlace, La. (East St. John)
Kevin Moore DB 6-0 205 Lafayette, La. (Acadiana/Texas Tech)
Derrick Munson DB 6-0 200 Metairie, La. (Rummel/Arkansas)
Omar Pew DL 5-11 280 Horn Lake, Miss. (Horn Lake)
Brooks Rayburn WR 6-2 190 Waveland, Miss (Hancock)
Elijah Reames DL 6-2 245 Baton Rouge, La. (Catholic)
Andrew Robison QB 6-1 190 Luling, La. (Hahnville)
Chris Thomas DL 6-1 250 Shreveport, La. (Evangel)
Chris Welch DL 6-4 260 Baton Rouge, La. (Southern Lab)
Levon Williams TE 6-3 215 Kenner, La. (John Curtis)
Matthew Williams OL 6-2 285 Horn Lake, Miss. (Horn Lake)

  • < PREV Video: Warren Easton DB Chester Kimbrough signs with Florida Gators
  • NEXT > LA Tech announces five additions to 2019 football signing class