Newman, Christ Episcopal capture tennis state titles

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

It was a good day in Monroe as a pair of local teams captured state tennis titles at ULM.

The Newman girls repeated as Division III state champion with 18 points, easily outdistancing University High with 9 ½ points. Academy of the Sacred Heart of New Orleans was third with nine points. The Greenies won the last state title contested in 2019 before the pandemic prevented championships in 2020.

Micah Pierce of the Greenies won the singles title, downing Madison Morris of Parkview Baptist 6-0, 6-1 in the championship match.

Celia Hardin and Caroline Marcus of Newman won the doubles title, outlasting Mary Longmire and Maura Blanchfield of University High 3-6, 6-4, 10-8.

Christ Episcopal captured the girls Division IV state championship with 8.5 points with St. Mary’s finishing second with seven points. St. Martin’s Episcopal and First Baptist Christian tied for third with 5.5 points.

Brooke Powers was the singles runner-up, falling to Madison Scharfenstein of First Baptist Christian.

The duo of Prudence Dudley and Katie Laforge of St. Martin’s Episcopal won the state doubles title.

In boys competition, Newman finished second in Division III. St. Louis Catholic won the state championship with 14 points while the Greenies finished with 12 ½ points. Loyola Prep was third with 9.5 points.

The Newman doubles team of Cole Cahn and Alister Cunningham were runner-ups.

In the Division IV boys competition, Dunham won the state title with 16 points, Christ Episcopal was second with nine points and Episcopal of Acadiana came in third with six points.

Benjamin Chandler of Christ Episcopal was the singles runner-up while the doubles team of Dylan Burdett and Kai Harrison were runner-ups as well.

  • < PREV Softball Playoffs: Hannan-Haynes final set for Saturday, Curtis faces MCA for D1 title
  • NEXT > Belle, Colonels edge out series opener against UIW, 2-1

Ken Trahan


Born and raised in the New Orleans area, CCSE CEO Ken Trahan has been a sports media fixture in the community for nearly four decades. Ken started with Bill Hammack and Don Jones in 2008. In 2011, the site became On August 1, 2017, Ken helped launch Having accumulated national awards/recognition (National Sports Media Association, National Football…

Read more >