New Mexico’s Terry Wilson named Manning Award Quarterback of the Week

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Terry Wilson

NEW ORLEANS – Terry Wilson, a senior from New Mexico, has been selected as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week. He earns the honor over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Facebook contest.

Facebook Voting Results

Wilson, a transfer from Kentucky, completed 26-of-37 passes for 381 yards and three touchdowns while connecting on a 58-yard fourth quarter touchdown pass to give New Mexico the margin they needed in a 34-25 win over state-rival New Mexico State.

The 6-foot-3, 210-pound native of Oklahoma City, Okla., set career-highs in nearly every category in his second outing for New Mexico while leading the Lobos to their first 2-0 start in 16 years. He recorded the most passing yards in a game for the Lobos since 2003 and was honored by league officials as the Mountain West Offensive Player of the Week.

He was also selected as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week in 2018 while playing for Kentucky.

Wilson and the Lobos return to action on Saturday as they head to College Station to face No. 7 Texas A&M in an 11 a.m. CT matchup on SEC Network.

The closest competition for Wilson and the Lobos fans in the Facebook voting contest came from Memphis’ Seth Henigan and Brennan Armstrong of Virginia. Henigan, a true freshman making his first career start against an FBS opponent, completed 22-of-33 passes for 417 yards and five touchdowns to lead Memphis to a wild 55-50 win over Arkansas State. He threw for the eighth-most yards in Tiger history and connected a 75-yard TD pass in the fourth quarter. Armstrong completed 27-of-36 passes and became the second quarterback in Cavalier history to throw for 400 yards (405) with five TDs in a game. He marked career-highs in completions, yards and touchdowns as he led Virginia to a 42-14 victory over Illinois.

While the Manning Award selected 32 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. Ten finalists will be selected and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 17 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 13 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Mac Jones, Joe Burrow, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) leads the way with six Manning Award honorees, while the Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) has had five winners. The Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. LSU (Burrow and Russell), Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) and Texas (McCoy and Young) have each had two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

  • < PREV Crescent City Sports debuts "Sportsmakers" Podcast presented by Southland Plumbing
  • NEXT > Preview: No. 15 SLU closes nonconference play at CCSU