Mississippi State’s Will Rogers named Manning Award Quarterback of the Week

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Will Rogers weekly Manning QB Award

NEW ORLEANS – Will Rogers, a sophomore from Mississippi State University, has been selected as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week. He earns the honor over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Facebook contest.

Rogers, a Brandon, Miss., native, notched his fifth 400-yard game of the season as he completed 44-of-55 passes for 415 yards and six touchdowns to lead the Bulldogs to the largest comeback in school history, erasing a 25-point deficit as they shocked No. 17 Auburn, 43-34, in an SEC road game. Rogers only threw three incompletions in the final three quarters and registered his six passing touchdowns established a new school record.

Manning Award Stars of the Week, November 18, 2021

The 6-foot-2, 210-pound signal caller was tabbed the Southeastern Conference Offensive Player of the Week and his 40 career passing touchdowns now has him tied for fourth-most in Bulldog history. Rogers currently leads the country in completion percentage and has also tied Dak Prescott, six-time Manning Award QB of the Week, for the MSU single-season record with 29 passing touchdowns.

Rogers and the No. 25 Bulldogs will host Tennessee State on Saturday at 11 a.m. CT on ESPN+.

The closest competition for Rogers came from Kansas’ Jalon Daniels and Donovan Smith of Texas Tech. Daniels, making his first start of the season, completed 21-of-30 passes for 202 yards and three touchdowns as he helped the Jayhawks score their most points ever in a road game as well as their first-ever win in Austin, shocking Texas 57-56 in overtime when Daniels found walk-on fullback Jared Casey on a successful two-point conversion pass. Smith, making his first career start, completed 25-of-32 passes for 322 yards and three touchdowns while also running for 50 yards as the Red Raiders became bowl eligible for the first time since 2017 by beating Big 12 rival Iowa State, 41-38, on a last second 62-yard field goal.

The Manning Award selected 32 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List and made 15 midseason additions in October. Ten finalists will be selected and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship. Since the Manning Award started recognizing Stars of the Week in 2011, 463 different quarterbacks from 129 schools have been recognized. Sixty-two different quarterbacks have been honored so far during the 2021 season.

In its first 17 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 13 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Mac Jones, Joe Burrow, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) leads the way with six Manning Award honorees, while the Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) has had five winners. The Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. LSU (Burrow and Russell), Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) and Texas (McCoy and Young) have each had two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

  • < PREV St. James, Madison Prep square off Thursday in battle of last two state champions
  • NEXT > Swimming: Division IV swimming finals results