McNeese’s Chambers, Southeastern’s Jordan on Buck Buchanan Award Watch List

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon


Preseason All-Americans earn consideration for national defensive player of the year honor

CHICAGO – McNeese defensive end Isaiah Chambers and Southeastern cornerback Ferlando Jordan are among the 35 members of the Buck Buchanan Award Watch List, announced by Stats Perform on Thursday.

Chambers finished fourth in voting for the award and was a consensus First-Team All-American this past season after pacing the conference and ranking second nationally in sacks (7.5) and tackles for loss (14.5).

Jordan, who garnered his second All-America nod in 2020, enters his senior season in the top-five in conference history in career interceptions returned for a touchdown (three) and interception return yards (300).

The Buck Buchanan Award, named for the legendary defensive lineman, enters its 27th season and is presented to the national FCS defensive player of the year. The Buchanan has watched past winners such as Dexter Coakley, Rashean Mathis, Jared Allen, Arthur Moats and Kyle Emanuel move on to NFL careers. A national media panel will select the winner after the regular season.


Defensive Linemen
Jared Brinkman, Northern Iowa (2020-21 finalist)

Isaiah Chambers, McNeese (2020-21 finalist)

DJ Coleman, Jacksonville State

Mike Greene, James Madison (2020-21 finalist)

Malik Hamm, Lafayette

Jahari Kay, Sam Houston (2020-21 finalist)

Jordan Lewis, Southern (2020-21 recipient)

Shaundre Mims, Charleston Southern

Kobie Turner, Richmond

Troy Andersen, Montana State

Logan Backhaus, South Dakota State

Ryan Greenhagen, Fordham (2020-21 finalist)

Willie Eubanks III, The Citadel (2019 finalist)

Tre Jones, Central Connecticut State

James Kaczor, North Dakota State

La’akea Kaho’ohanohano-Davis, Southern Utah (2020-21 finalist)

Titus Leo, Wagner (2020-21 finalist)

Jace Lewis, Montana

Forrest Rhyne, Villanova

Stone Snyder, VMI (2020-21 finalist)

Jeremiah Tyler, Princeton

Tre Walker, Idaho (2020-21 finalist)

Tristan Wheeler, Richmond (2020-21 finalist)

Defensive Backs
Anthony Adams, Portland State (2019 finalist)

Markquese Bell, Florida A&M

Qua Brown, Southern Illinois

Anthony Budd, Monmouth

Decobie Durant, South Carolina State

Brandon Easterling, Dayton (2019 finalist)

Chris Edmonds, Samford (2020-21 finalist)

Marcis Floyd, Murray State

Nicario Harper, Jacksonville State (2020-21 finalist)

Kordell Jackson, Austin Peay (2019 and 2020-21 finalist)

Ferlando Jordan, Southeastern Louisiana

Zyon McCollum, Sam Houston

  • < PREV Trey Baldwin and Tyler Grubb named to Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List
  • NEXT > Football Preview: University Lab primed for run at state title