McMain’s Steven Kelly named boys coach of year on Class 4A All-State basketball team

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Written for the LSWA
LaGrange returned to the top of Class 4A girls basketball, winning a second LHSAA championship, while the McMain boys won their first-ever state title.

Each team has now earned a top individual honor on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 4A All-State basketball teams.

LaGrange senior Jeriah Warren is Outstanding Player on the girls team. McMain’s Steven Kelly is Coach of the Year on the boys team.

Warren, a Florida signee, averaged 18.6 points, 12.3 rebounds, 6 assists and 3.2 blocks per game to lead LaGrange to a 27-1 season.

The late Kenneth Dixon of Ellender was selected as the girls Coach of the Year. The legendary coach led the Patriots to five state championships and 724 wins in 29 seasons. This year’s team finished the season 15-6 and reached the regional round of the playoffs.

Dixon died at age 70 on March 1 due to a brain aneurysm suffered moments before Ellender’s first round playoff game against Salmen and was taken from the game to the hospital.

Joining Warren on the first team are LaGrange teammate Aasia Sam (16 ppg), Warren Easton’s Breanna Sutton (15 ppg), Liberty’s Haley Franklin (16 ppg) and Huntington’s Taylor Bell (18 ppg).

Carter Domingue of St. Thomas More is boys Outstanding Player after leading the Cougars to the Division II state title while averaging 18 points, 7 rebounds, 6 assists and 3 steals per game. Joining him on the first team are Peabody’s Zytarious Morlte (20 ppg), Ellender’s Dionjahe Thomas (24 ppg), Woodlawn’s Delatrion Moton (19 ppg) and Carver’s Solomon Washington (13 ppg).

Kelly has led the Mustangs program, which won a single game the season before his hiring, to new heights. McMain capped its best-ever season with a dramatic win over district rival Carver in the 4A championship game.


First team
Player School ht. cl. avg
Zytarious Morlte Peabody 6-3 Sr. 20.0
Dionjahe Thomas Ellender 6-8 Jr. 24.0
Carter Domingue St. Thomas More 6-2 Sr. 17.5
Delatrion Moton Woodlawn-Shreveport 6-4 Sr. 19.0
Solomon Washington Carver 6-7 Jr. 13.3

Second team
Player School ht. cl. avg
P.D. McCraney Neville 6-0 Jr. 17.0
Jaden Tyler Assumption 6-2 Sr. 24.0
Jaden Shelvin St. Thomas More 6-3 Sr. 14.9
Bennie Amos L.B. Landry 6-1 Sr. 21.0
Alex Hammond McMain 6-3 Jr. 14.4


HONORABLE MENTION: Joe Arthur, Neville; Jonquarious McGhee, Opelousas; Avontez Ledet, Cecilia; Blake Gillyard, Northwood; Donovan Seamster, Woodlawn-Shreveport; Jathen Ross, Evangel; Nick Dyer, B.T. Washington-Shreveport; Jacob Wilson, Liberty; Lance Williams, St. Michael; Dorian Finister, Carver; Alexzaye Johnson, Helen Cox; Leland Smith, Karr; Jamaar Moore, Washington-Marion; Derron Griffin, DeRidder; Preston Bourda Jr., Ellender; Nylan Francis, Morgan City; Markell Marshall, South Terrebonne; Brandon Daniels, South Lafourche; Latral Weary, Plaquemine.

First team
Player School ht. cl. avg
Jeriah Warren LaGrange 5-11 Sr. 18.6
Asia Sam LaGrange 5-9 Sr. 15.6
Breanna Sutton Warren Easton 5-7 Sr. 14.2
Haley Franklin Liberty 5-8 Sr. 15.8
Taylor Bell Huntington 5-11 Sr. 18.2

Second team
Player School ht. cl. avg
DaKayla Howard Neville 5-6 Sr. 15.0
Lynn Griffin Carencro 5-10 Sr. 15.3
AC Froelich St. Thomas More 6-0 So. 14.0
Tia Shelling Karr 5-8 Jr. 14.8
Jamia Singleton Ellender 5-8 So. 16.0


HONORABLE MENTION: Jajuanna Briggs, Neville; Dymon Drumgo, Bolton; Ced’ dreeca Chapman, Bolton; Clare Hader, St. Thomas More; Ceara Myers, Liberty; Madison Ryan, South Lafourche; Samantha Taylor, Huntington; Kalea Dunn, Huntington; Aisya Tayler, B.T. Washington-Shreveport; Shakayla Carter, Minden; Jazzmyn White, Minden; Waynette Baker, Northwood; Destinee Moore, Northwood; Tarellya Baber, Woodlawn-Shreveport; Jasi Jenkins, Ellender; Ava Pitre, South Lafourche; Elaina Rivere, Assumption; Haylie Crappell, Morgan City.

  • < PREV Anderberg, Kilcrease power Colonels to UTM shutout
  • NEXT > Pelicans bare vague resemblance to team we know in loss to Hawks