Mawae, Faneca, Walls named 2018 finalists for Canton

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Former LSU offensive linemen Alan Faneca and Kevin Mawae as well as ex-Grambling State cornerback Everson Walls were announced among the 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2018 on Tuesday.

Mawae played 16 NFL seasons (1994-2009), earning eight All-Pro and eight Pro Bowls honors during his career while playing in 241 career games. The Leesville High alum was a finalist for Canton last year.

Faneca, now a finalist in all three years of eligibility, was a six-time All-Pro and nine-time Pro Bowler during his 13-year career.

Walls becomes a finalist in his 20th and final year of modern-era eligibility. The cornerback who tallied 57 career interceptions, earned three All-Pro honors with the Dallas Cowboys before winning a Super Bowl as a safety for the New York Giants.

Mawae, Faneca and Walls are all enshrined in the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame.

The complete list of modern-era finalists for the Class of 2018:

Tony Boselli, tackle: 1995-2001 Jacksonville Jaguars
Isaac Bruce, wide receiver: 1994-2007 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 2008-09 San Francisco 49ers
Brian Dawkins, safety: 1996-2008 Philadelphia Eagles, 2009-2011 Denver Broncos
Alan Faneca, guard: 1998-2007 Pittsburgh Steelers, 2008-09 New York Jets, 2010 Arizona Cardinals
Steve Hutchinson, guard: 2001-05 Seattle Seahawks, 2006-2011 Minnesota Vikings, 2012 Tennessee Titans
Joe Jacoby, tackle: 1981-1993 Washington Redskins
Edgerrin James, running back: 1999-2005 Indianapolis Colts, 2006-08 Arizona Cardinals, 2009 Seattle Seahawks
Ty Law, cornerback: 1995-2004 New England Patriots, 2005, 2008 New York Jets, 2006-07 Kansas City Chiefs, 2009 Denver Broncos
Ray Lewis, linebacker: 1996-2012 Baltimore Ravens
John Lynch, free safety: 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos
Kevin Mawae, center: 1994-97 Seattle Seahawks, 1998-2005 New York Jets, 2006-09 Tennessee Titans
Randy Moss, wide receiver:1998-2004, 2010 Minnesota Vikings, 2005-06 Oakland Raiders, 2007-2010 New England Patriots, 2010 Tennessee Titans, 2012 San Francisco 49ers
Terrell Owens, wide receiver: 1996-2003 San Francisco 49ers, 2004-05 Philadelphia Eagles, 2006-08 Dallas Cowboys, 2009 Buffalo Bills, 2010 Cincinnati Bengals
Brian Urlacher, linebacker: 2000-2012 Chicago Bears
Everson Walls, cornerback: 1981-89 Dallas Cowboys, 1990-92 New York Giants, 1992-93 Cleveland Browns

  • < PREV Landry-Walker overwhelms depleted Country Day, 67-36
  • NEXT > Area Prep Basketball Report for Wednesday, Jan. 3