LSU’s Joe Brady named finalist for Broyles Award

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Joe Brady
(Photo: Jonathan Mailhes)

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. – The Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation is pleased to announce the five finalists for the 2019 Broyles Award, which honors college football’s top assistant coaches. The finalists were selected from a group of 15 semi-finalists and 41 nominees by a selection committee made of up former hall of fame coaches, members of the FWAA and broadcasters.

The five finalists are:

BAYLOR – Phil Snow, Defensive Coordinator

GEORGIA – Dan Lanning, Defensive Coordinator

LSU – Joe Brady, Passing Game Coordinator/Wide Receivers

OHIO STATE – Jeff Hafley, Co-Defensive Coordinator/Secondary Coach

UTAH – Morgan Scalley, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties

The final five will travel to Little Rock, Ark. where the winner will be announced at the Broyles Award Ceremony on Tuesday, December 10th at the Marriott Hotel.

Visit the Broyles Award website for the full list of previous finalists and winners.

Proceeds from the 2019 Broyles Award support the mission of the Broyles Foundation; to provide a game plan through education, support, and resources to Alzheimer’s caregivers. The Broyles Foundation can be followed on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Riceland Foods serves as the presenting sponsor of the 2019 Broyles Award. Riceland is the world’s largest miller and marketer of rice with its products sold across the nation and to more than 75 foreign destinations.


About the Broyles Award
The Broyles Award was created in 1996 recognizing Coach Frank Broyles’ legacy of selecting and developing great assistants during his hall of fame career at Arkansas. You can follow the Broyles Award on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

About the National College Football Awards Association
The National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 699 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

About the Football Writers Association of America
The Football Writers Association of America, founded in 1941, consists of 1,300 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at

  • < PREV J'Mar Smith named C-USA Offensive Player of the Week
  • NEXT > Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball tips off Wednesday