LSU’s Bridges, Tulane’s Stewart headline LSWA All-Louisiana Tennis teams

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

HAMMOND, La. – LSU junior Taylor Bridges and Tulane junior Hamish Stewart took home the top individual honors on the 2019-20 Louisiana Sports Writers Association All-Louisiana Tennis Teams, which were released by the LSWA on Saturday.

Bridges was named the state’s Women’s Tennis Player of the Year, while Stewart took home men’s honors.

Bridges started off 2019-20 with a strong fall campaign, posting a 9-3 tournament record and was the 2019 ITA Southern Regional Singles Champion. In the spring, the Mesa, Arizona native earned a 7-3 singles record playing on the No. 1 court, as well as a perfect 4-0 start to doubles play. Bridges maintained a spot in the ITA Singles Rankings all spring, rising as high as No. 33 in the nation.

Bridges was joined on the All-Louisiana first team by junior teammate Eden Richardson, Xavier junior Angela Charles-Alfred, sophomore Ank Vullings of New Orleans, Tulane freshman Mackenzie Clark and Louisiana Tech sophomore Ana Jover.

Stewart was ranked nationally in singles and doubles when the spring season ended. The Glasgow, Scotland product posted a 16-7 record on the No. 2 singles court and finished the spring ranked No. 50 in the ITA rankings. He and teammate Akos Kotorman finished the fall ranked No. 59 in the doubles rankings. Stewart’s spring was highlighted by a straight-set win over No. 18 Alex Rostaert of No. 11 Stanford.

Stewart was part of the first team that included senior teammate Ewan Moore, UL Lafayette sophomore Jan Galka, Xavier freshman Juan Batalla, LSU sophomore Boris Kozlov and New Orleans senior Mats Westkamp.

Batalla was also selected LSWA Men’s Tennis Freshman of the Year. The Mexico City, Mexico native finished ranked No. 17 in the national NAIA singles rankings. Batalla finished the season with a 16-4 singles mark and a 13-3 doubles mark.

Both of the state’s Freshman of the Year came from Xavier, as Lailaa Bashir took home the honors on the women’s side. The Jackson, Mississippi native was a perfect 10-0 in both singles and doubles play during dual match play. Bashir finished the season ranked No. 16 in the ITA/NAIA national singles rankings.

Bashir headlined a second team that also included the LSU pair of freshmen Safiya Carrington and Nina Geissler, as well as LSU Alexandria junior Patricia Martinez Molina, junior Floriane Picaut of UL Lafayette and Northwestern State freshman Mariella Minetti.

Picaut’s teammate, Mariona Perez Nogueara, was tabbed the LSWA Women’s Tennis Newcomer of the Year. In her first season with the Ragin’ Cajuns after transferring from Pittsburgh, she was 5-1 in singles play this spring and posted a 5-3 doubles mark. Nogueara was one of six state women’s student-athletes to earn honorable mention recognition.

After leading the Tigers to a 10-3 spring record and a No. 21 ITA national ranking, LSU co-head coaches Julia and Michael Sell earned women’s tennis Coach of the Year honors. Tulane head coach Mark Booras claimed coach of the year accolades on the men’s side. Under Booras’ tutelage, the Green Wave earned road wins over LSU and Mississippi State to highlight an abbreviated spring.

The 2019-20 All-Louisiana tennis teams were selected by the state’s sports information directors. SID’s were not permitted to vote for their own institution’s nominees.

2019-20 LSWA All-Louisiana Tennis Teams


First Team
Taylor Bridges, LSU
Angela Charles-Alfred, Xavier
Eden Richardson, LSU
Ank Vullings, UNO
Mackenzie Clark, Tulane
Ana Jover, Louisiana Tech

Second Team
Lailaa Bashir, Xavier
Safiya Carrington, LSU
Nina Geissler, LSU
Patricia Martinez Molina, LSU Alexandria
Floriane Picaut, UL Lafayette
Mariella Minetti, Northwestern State

Honorable Mention: Ela Iwaniuk, Northwestern State; Alexia Romero, Louisiana Tech; Putri Insani, Southeastern Louisiana; Adelaide Lavery, Tulane; Mariona Perez Noguera, UL Lafayette; Patrycja Polanska, Northwestern State

Player of the Year: Taylor Bridges, LSU
Freshman of the Year: Lailaa Bashir, Xavier
Newcomer of the Year: Mariona Perez Noguera, UL Lafayette
Coach of the Year: Julia and Michael Sell, LSU


First Team
Hamish Stewart, Tulane
Jan Galka, UL Lafayette
Juan Batalla, Xavier
Ewan Moore, Tulane
Boris Kozlov, LSU
Mats Westkamp, UNO

Honorable Mention: Santiago Perez, Xavier; Ivailo Keremedchiev, UL Lafayette; Ronald Hohmann, LSU; Dane Esses, Tulane

Player of the Year: Hamish Stewart, Tulane
Freshman of the Year: Juan Batalla, Xavier
Coach of the Year: Mark Booras, Tulane

  • < PREV Saints offseason overview: Defensive backs
  • NEXT > Flashback:  Former New Orleans high school standout Tony Roig a big hit in Japanese pro baseball league