LSU to honor 2007 national championship football team Saturday at halftime

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

2007 BCS Championship: LSU vs. Ohio State

BATON ROUGE – More than 70 members of LSU’s 2007 National Championship Team along with head coach Les Miles will be on hand Saturday when the school celebrates the 10-year anniversary of the Tigers’ national title.

LSU hosts Auburn at 2:30 p.m. for the “Gold Game” on Saturday in Tiger Stadium. A limited number of tickets remain for what will be the premier game in the Southeastern Conference this weekend. Tickets for the game, including those in the popular Skyline Club, can be purchased online at

It’s been 10 years since quarterback Matt Flynn and defensive tackle Glenn Dorsey, the most decorated player in school history with four national awards to his credit, helped guide the Tigers on a magical run that ended with a 38-24 win over Ohio State in the BCS National Championship Game at the Superdome in New Orleans.

Flynn, Dorsey and the three other team captains from that season – running back Jacob Hester, safety Craig Steltz, and punter Patrick Fisher – will all be in Tiger Stadium for the halftime ceremony on Saturday when each player will be recognized on the field.

“This was always my dream,” Dorsey said. “To grow up an LSU fan and then to come to school here and be part of a national title, it was a dream come true. I really am speechless and have a hard time expressing in words what my time at LSU meant to me. It’s really some of the best times of my life.”

With Dorsey leading the way on defense, and Flynn and Hester setting the pace on offense, the Tigers went 12-2 in 2007, beating Tennessee, 21-14, in the SEC Championship Game. Of LSU’s 12 wins, seven came against Top 25 teams, including ranked wins over South Carolina, Florida, Auburn, and Alabama in SEC play. LSU’s only two losses came in triple-overtime.

LSU also beat ninth-ranked Virginia Tech, 48-7, in Tiger Stadium in early September setting the stage for a season that saw the Tigers dominate opponents week after week. The win over 14th-ranked Tennessee in the SEC title game propelled the Tigers into the national championship contest against top-ranked and once-beaten Ohio State.
In New Orleans against the No. 1-ranked Buckeyes, LSU rallied from an early 10-0 deficit, scoring 31 unanswered points over 24-minute span in the contest, to become the first two-time BCS National Champion with the 38-24 victory over the Buckeyes.

Following the win over Ohio State, it was if Mardi Gras had come early to New Orleans as tens of thousands of LSU fans spilled into the streets of the French Quarter to celebrate the school’s third national title.

LSU followed the party on the streets of New Orleans with a celebratory parade in Baton Rouge along with a trip to the White House to meet President George W. Bush.

Saturday afternoon in Tiger Stadium will be the first time that many of these players have gathered as a group since the spring of 2008.

For Dorsey, who was a first round draft pick in April of 2008 by the Kansas City Chiefs, it’s his first time in Tiger Stadium for a game during the fall since his senior season with the Tigers. Dorsey has been back for a spring game, but never a regular season contest.

“I can’t wait to get back in Tiger Stadium on Saturday,” Dorsey said. “The fans, the band, the smell of the grass; it’s like no other place. I’m going to close my eyes and think back to all of those great memories from 2007. It’s going to be a special day.”

The following is a list of players that are expected to be in Tiger Stadium on Saturday:
Charles Alexander (DT)
Rahim Alem (DL)
Matt Allen (OL)
Ryan Anders (PK)
Caleb Angelle (PK)
Will Arnold (OL)
Darry Beckwith (LB)
Will Blackwell (OL)
Jeremy Bunting (WR)
Donnie Chaucer (DB)
Mit Cole (TE)
Jacob Cutrera (LB)
Joey Crappell (SNP)
Andrew Crutchfield (PK)
Brady Dalfrey (P)
Colt Davis (PK)
Andrew Decker (OL)
Richard Dickson (TE)
Ricky Dixon (WR)
Early Doucet (WR)
Glenn Dorsey (DT)
Richard Dugas (C)
Josh Dworaczyk (OL)
Jai Eugene (DB)
Marlon Favorite (DT)
Patrick Fisher (P)
Matt Flynn (QB)
Ace Foyil (LB)
Stefoin Francois (LB)
Sean Gaudet (PK)
Daniel Graff (DB)
Josh Graham (DB)
Orlando Gunn (DB)
Donald Hains (DL)
Andrew Hatch (QB)
T-Bob Hebert (OL)
Trent Hebert (PK)
Brett Helms (OL)
Trey Helms (OL)
Jacob Hester (RB)
Lyle Hitt (OL)
Trindon Holliday (RB/RS)
Tyson Jackson (DE)
Josh Jasper (PK)
Herman Johnson (OL)
Quinn Johnson (FB)
Tremaine Johnson (DL)
Chad Jones (DB)
Mitch Joseph (TE)
Brandon LaFell (WR)
Pep Levingston (DE)
Cole Louviere (OL)
Joe Maltempi (DB)
Josh McManus (WR)
Ryan Miller (OL)
Chris Mitchell (WR)
Chad Moody (DB)
Richard Murphy (RB)
Ryan Perrilloux (QB)
Kirston Pittman (DE)
Stevan Ridley (RB)
Luke Sanders (LB)
Charles Scott (RB)
Robert Smith (OL)
Mark Snyder (OL)
Craig Steltz (S)
Curtis Taylor (S)
Terrance Toliver (WR)
Jimmy Welker (QB)
Keith Zinger (TE)

  • < PREV Tulane hits road to face FIU
  • NEXT > Nuggets gain first-ever season sweep of Spring Hill