LSU Eunice’s Bryce Roberts headlines All-Louisiana Community Colleges Athletic Conference Men’s Basketball team

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

EUNICE, La. – LSU Eunice earned the top award for the All-Louisiana Community Colleges Athletic Conference Men’s Basketball team, it was announced this week.  The Bengals’ Bryce Roberts was named Player of the Year, the fourth straight season LSUE has been awarded the top player honor.

Roberts was joined on the All-LCCAC team with Nasir DeGruy on the second team and the honorable mention trio of Puoch Dubuol, Jr., Kiani Saxon and Kaden Pierre.

Roberts was second in the LCCAC in points per game, averaging 14.9 a night.  The sophomore enjoyed a career night on February 1 in his return home to the Shreveport area.  Roberts poured in 35 points in a runaway win over SU-Shreveport, the most points in a single game in LSUE Men’s Basketball history.  He was a second-team All-LCCAC selection last season.

DeGruy became an instant impact player on the Bengals, leading the team in steals (1.8/per game) and assists (3.0/per game).  The former St. Augustine HS standout averaged 11.3 points per game in his rookie season while flirting with a triple double on more than one occasion.

Dubuol, Jr. asserted himself as one of the best high flyers in the LCCAC, averaging 9.1 points per game in his only season on the Cajun Prairie.  He added 4.9 rebounds per game, a team best 18 blocks and 26 steals.

Saxon had a standout game vs. SU-Shreveport on Feb. 11, finishing two assists shy of a triple-double with 12 points, 18 rebounds and eight assists.  The 18 rebounds were the second most in a single game in Bengal history.  The Kiwi averaged 7.9 points per game to go along with a team-best 5.3 rebounding average.

Pierre became the glue of the Bengals’ LCCAC championship season, averaging 7.7 points and 3.9 rebounds per game.  The forward scored double digit points in three of the six LCCAC games he played in.

LSU Eunice captured its fourth straight LCCAC regular season championship, going undefeated in conference play of the third straight season.  The Bengals have won 31 consecutive LCCAC games, dating back to the 2019-2020 season.  This year, LSUE won all eight of its LCCAC games by an average margin of 21.5 points.

2023 Men’s Basketball All-Louisiana Community College Athletic Association Team

First Team

Bryce Roberts Soph Guard LSU Eunice Bossier City, LA
Reggie Gause Soph Guard Baton Rouge CC Covington, LA
Zyquris Cowart Fresh Guard SU-Shreveport Rayville, LA
Devin Lewis Fresh Guard Delgado CC Slidell, LA
Bennie Amos Soph Guard Delgado CC New Orleans, LA


Nasir DeGruy Fresh Guard LSU Eunice New Orleans, LA
Jarrell Love Fresh Guard Baton Rouge CC Fort Worth, TX
Tyrone Trufant Soph Guard Delgado CC Harvey, LA
Leon Smith, Jr. Soph Guard SU-Shreveport Rayne, LA
Deonte Edwards Soph Forward SU-Shreveport Carroll, LA

Honorable Mention

Puoch Dubuol, Jr. Soph Forward LSU Eunice St. Cloud, MN
Kiani Saxon Soph Forward LSU Eunice Auckland, New Zealand
Kaden Pierre Soph Forward LSU Eunice Ama, LA
Rodney Felton Soph G/F Baton Rouge CC Lake Charles, LA

Player of the Year: Bryce Roberts, LSU Eunice

Defensive Player of the Year:  Xavier Smith, Baton Rouge CC

Coach of the Year: Don Green, Baton Rouge CC

  • < PREV Reigning Zurich Classic champs Cantlay and Schauffele will defend in 2023
  • NEXT > Zurich Classic stands strong amid PGA changes