LSU Eunice softball catcher Hennen named NFCA National Catcher of the Year, unanimous All-American

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Olivia Hennen

EUNICE, La. – LSU Eunice catcher Olivia Hennen was given the highest honor for her position as the National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) awarded her as both a first-team All-American and Diamond Sports National Catcher of the Year, it was announced on Friday.

Hennen was an unanimous choice for the All-American squad, one of eight unanimous selections for the first team.

“Olivia was the heart and soul of our team this year and did everything we asked of her both on and off the field,” LSU Eunice softball head coach Meghan Collins said. “She put in a great deal of hard work in the offseason and I could not be more proud of her for being rewarded with these accolades.”

She is the first LSU Eunice catcher to receive first-team All-American honors and is the first All-American backtop for the Bengals since Rhea Person (third-team) in 2009.

Hennen enjoyed a breakout campaign for as the catalyst for the Bengals’ offense, being placed throughout the meat of the lineup to try to spark the LSUE attack. The Choudrant HS product led the team in six different offensive categories including a .426 batting average.

The backstop was a problem on the base paths, ranking 13th nationally and 6th all-time in a single season at LSUE with 38 stolen bases on 40 attempts. Hennen added 49 RBIs, 60 runs scored, 11 doubles and 11 home runs to her stat line.

Her 37 walks were also ranked second in the country.

Earlier this week, Hennen was named an All-Region 23 selection by the NJCAA and a South Region first-team selection by the NFCA.

The NFCA NJCAA Division II All-American team consists of student-athletes from 21 different schools. National Champion Phoenix College led the way with five selections on the two teams. Hennen received one of four major awards including National Pitcher of the Year Brianna Hardy (Phoenix), National Player of the Year Sophie Maras (Des Moines Area) and the New Balance Golden Show Award winner Addison Hudson (Jackson College).

Diamond Sports/NFCA Catcher Of The Year Award
2021 Olivia Hennen LSU Eunice
2019 Lizzy Van Manen Northwest Mississippi CC
2018 Monika Bevins Kirkwood CC
2017 Maddie Hansen Kirkwood CC
2016 Maddien Hansen Kirkwood CC
2015 Brittany Plimmer Kankakee CC
2014 Sarah Rothe Hutchinson CC

2021 NFCA NJCAA Division II All-American Team
First Team
P Brianna Hardy Phoenix College
P Nia Luckett Jones College
P Emily Robinson Itawamba CC
C Olivia Hennen LSU Eunice
1B Loghen Schnetzer Iowa Central CC
2B Megan Mann Lansing CC
3B Reagan Cheely Parkland College
SS Sophie Maras Des Moines Area CC
OF Summer Johnson Parkland College
OF Ali Ashner Phoenix College
OF Randyn Carter Kirkwood CC
UT/P Saige Koczka Northwest Mississippi CC
DP Giulia Cianfriglia Spoon River College
P Kori Wedeking KirkWood CC
P Chayse Ramey Parkland College
2B Kaylie Reynolds Des Moines Area CC
1B Lauren Lindsey Jones College
SS Jocellyn LaFlesch Phoenix College

Second Team
P Cera Blanchard Copiah-Lincoln CC
P Casey Fountain Madison College
P Claudia Feldpausch Oakland CC
C Peggy Klingler Kirkwood CC
1B Kaylin Watkins Johnson County CC
2B Kamryn Moctezuma Phoenix College
3B Carlon Brabham Copiah-Lincoln CC
SS Hailey Ellingburg Holmes CC
OF Kristian Edwards Jones College
OF Jordan Deibel Lansing CC
OF Abby Husak Des Moines Area CC
UT Lexi Chase Iowa Lakes CC
DP Aubrey Griffith Johnson County CC
3B Tyesha Cole Jones College
C Sabetha Sands Murray State College
UT/P Lake Lienhard North Iowa Area CC
OF Anna Walker Parkland College
1B Morghan Holland Labette CC

  • < PREV LSU Eunice thumps Western Oklahoma, forces deciding game of NJCAA Division II championship series
  • NEXT > Oregon State eliminates McNeese at Fort Worth Regional, 10-5